Advent

Today is the last day of Advent. The day of the birth of Jesus Christ.

  • 4th CANDLE – (purple) THE ANGEL CANDLE or THE CANDLE OF LOVE – The angels announced the good news of a Savior.  God sent his only Son to earth to save us, because he loves us! “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” (John 3:16-17)
  • ???????????????????????????????5th CANDLE – (white) “CHRIST CANDLE” – The white candle reminds us that Jesus is the spotless lamb of God, sent to wash away our sins! His birth was for his death, his death was for our birth! “The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, ‘Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!‘” (John 1:29)

 

 

 

Now, I know that my candles don’t look like they are right. But they are. They’re simply pastel colors. Three pastel purple, one pastel pink and one pastel red. I used red for the Christ candle instead of white. Why? Well, because when I was looking to buy new advent candles I saw these on sale! I thought to myself: why not? I can save a little money here. So next year I’ll probably go back to using dark candles but they truly won’t have much more meaning than my advent wreathe of this year. Jesus is who He is and I worship Him.

 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Advent, Candles, Christmas, Me, Memorial, Memories, Michigan, USA, Worship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

