Christmas Day 2013

Christmas day is the second most important day of the year. It’s the day we celebrate the birth of Jesus as a baby. It means different things to different people.

I’m reminded here of a Bible study I once led on the Christmas story. The first day I said we would begin the study of Jesus birth in the first chapter of the book of  John. One woman looked up very puzzled and said, “I brought a Bible, but what do you mean by the book of John? Were we supposed to buy another book?” So we had a short lesson on the books of the Bible. Then we began the intended lesson on the Christmas story. In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. John 1:1 We then had an interesting discussion of Jesus being referred to here as the Word! Next we referred to Genesis 1:1. In the beginning God…  What a privilege was mine to introduce these women to the truth of the Bible…to the truth of who Jesus truly is…to the truth of eternal life…

Back to yesterday, whether we are with a house full of company, with family or all alone with just the two of us, it’s a very special day. We celebrate Jesus.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis year, Jerry and I were alone for the day. It was quiet…except for a few minutes, ten minutes at the most, when all of a sudden mayhem let loose! This all happened at the same time! Granddaughter, Sydney, called to wish us a Merry Christmas, grandkids from next door, Haleigh, Elmise and Armon, came running over to show us their main gifts, breakfast was cooking, orange juice suddenly went all over the kitchen floor! It all lasted just a few minutes and then… quietness again!

We decided to have a wonderful Christmas day even if it was just the two of us. Jerry built a fire. I read the Christmas story from Matthew 2. We opened our gifts and enjoyed talking to our children on the phone. We Skyped with our Canadian children and grandchildren. I cooked a big dinner just for the two of us. I set the dining room table with good China. We lit the Advent candles. Our dinner was baked ham, mashed potatoes and gravy, candied sweet potatoes, creamed corn, home-made clover-leaf dinner rolls and dessert for later. I was going to bake an apple pie but decided to wait on it because I had made cinnamon rolls when I made the dinner rolls. So after our dinner settled we each had a delicious cinnamon roll!

I must finish this by going back to the first paragraph and saying since this is the second most important day, what the most important day of the year is. Easter Sunday, the most important day. The day Jesus was brought back to life by His Heavenly Father after being crucified three days earlier. He died on the cross for my sins and yours. He arose from the grave so we can have eternal life with Him, if we believe. For God so loved the world that He sent His only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16 NIV

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Advent, All in the day of me..., Archers, Armon, Birthday, Candles, Celebrate, Christmas, Easter, Elmise, Family, Friends, Grandchildren, Haleigh, Me, Memories, Michigan, North America, Relationship with God, Sydney, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

