Day Seven Hawaiian Cruise Kauai’i

Sadly, this was our last full day of our cruise. It was a wonderful relaxing experience. We’ll be leaving here at 1:30 in afternoon to begin sailing back to Honolulu. We had to have our suitcases packed and out in the hallway this evening. So I had a busy day today.

First and most important: Coffee with Pam on her balcony.

Next, breakfast with Kay before we departed on an excursion. A singer came along, stopped at our table and ???????????????????????????????sang just for us! And…guess what he sang?! On Moonlight Bay! One of my favorite movies from the 50’s! Here is a picture of him with Kay! He’s a beautiful singer! I don’t know his name. 😦

???????????????????????????????Jerry and Pam waved good-bye to us as we boarded the big bus! They are on the balcony in the third row, the second one in. (Click on the picture to see them more clearly.)

???????????????????????????????Then we boarded this big bus. We rode up such steep mountain roads with hairpin turns. Sometimes I wondered if we’d make it! But we did. We had a good driver.

??????????????????????

We stopped at a scenic spot but I was so disappointed! I thought this was what we were going to see! Oh no…we had a longer ride up more mountain roads.

???????????????????????????????

 

 

 

 

We finally made it. It was worth it. It’s beautiful and unbelievable.

PB010534
??????????????????????

??????????????????????
It was unbelievably beautiful!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is my cousin, Kay, taking a break from taking pictures! I have so many more pictures I could put on here but I’m going to limit them.

??????????????????????

 

 

 

These are coffee bean trees. Acres and acres of them.

??????????????????????

 

 

We stopped at Koloa, a spouting park!

??????????????????????

 

 

 

 

It reminded me of Old Faithful Geyser in Yellowstone, except it’s much smaller! It sprays up every few minutes! It was fascinating.

??????????????????????

 

 

We saw thousands of lava rocks. In fact, we saw acres and acres of lava rocks.

??????????????????????

 

 

 

There are chickens running freely all over! It’s because years ago they were being raised and there were chicken houses for them. In ??????????????????????1996 or ’97 there was a terrible hurricane and the chicken houses were blown away!

 

 

The chickens stayed and are free to roam today. There is nothing to stalk them: no snakes, hawks, eagles, possums, or any other predator to attack them. They have the free reign! No one seems to own them! I wonder who gets the eggs?

??????????????????????

 

 

The roosters crow any time they get a yearning to! Can you hear him? I think I can…!

When Kay and I got back to the ship we were hungry! The others had already eaten so we ??????????????????????set out by ourselves. We ate up on a higher deck then we usually did and could look down.

??????????????????????I love our US flag!

??????????????????????

 

 

 

So long! One more night, we leave the ship right after breakfast in the morning.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm now in my eighties! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a great-grandma now! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I've just retired from writing and editing a newsletter, Prime Time News, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Chickens, Cousin, Cruise, Family, Hawaii, Kauai'i, Kay, Me, Pacific Ocean, Traveling, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Seven Hawaiian Cruise Kauai’i

  1. Pam says:

    That canyon really is beautiful. This is the first I have seen of those pictures. It was fun reliving our trip via your blog.

    Like

    • Good morning and thanks, Pam! The canyon is unbelievably beautiful! I have so many more pictures I could have put on but sometimes I get carried away… I have at least two more blogs on our Hawaiian trip coming up! So stay tuned! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment