A Sad Day

Today I went to the funeral of a young man, 23 years old. I’ve known him all his life, I knew his mother all her life and I’ve known his grandparents, on his mother’s side, since their wedding! Kevin’s mom died of cancer when he was just a little boy. Now he died of cancer. As I looked at his body lying there, I wanted to reach out and touch him. I didn’t of course, but he looked so beautiful and he looked like he was only sleeping.

It was a nice funeral, as funeral’s go. We believe Kevin is with Jesus and with his mom. That’s great. It makes such a difference when there is hope of eternal life. The music was beautiful, a little too loud, but beautiful. I would love to have a copy of a poem that was read. It was so good and so personal to Kevin. I have a feeling it was written just for him, although it wasn’t said. The minister was good.That’s got to be a hard job but he did good. I was impressed.

Another reminder to live my life to the fullest and always be ready…we don’t know when life will come to an abrupt ending. It can happen in the twinkling of an eye…at 76, 98 or 23.

So goes another day…all in the day of me.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm now in my eighties! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a great-grandma now! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I've just retired from writing and editing a newsletter, Prime Time News, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Death, Friends, Me, Memorial and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Sad Day

  1. Iris Duff says:

    How sad, such a young man. To know he has eternal life is a comfort though.

    Like

  2. Laura Cameron says:

    😦 geez. that is so sad, his poor family 😥 Im glad you were there for them today. God bless them. I hope you are doing well. I love you! ❤

    Like

  3. sydneyandkay says:

    Wow, I never like deaths but just to know there in a much better place comforts me. I hope you are doing well grandma , i love you so much but I got to go to bed so night night 😀
    Love Syd ❤

    Like

  4. sydneyandkay says:

    I was just re- reading some of the story because I was scrolling to the top to get out of this website to go to bed , but found myself reading it again because it is soo well written so then I had to write another comment because how well you wrote this grandma!! I love it so much even when I go to bed your writing takes my breath away!!

    Like

  5. bjones1031 says:

    It seems so unfair that such a young man, who had to face the loss of his mother so young, would die so early. My heart goes out to his family as well as you. I hope his mother welcomed him with open arms. Sending love your way.

    Like

  6. tersiaburger says:

    It is good that we know death is not the enemy!

    Like

  7. Tashia says:

    whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this info, you could help them greatly.

    Like

Leave a comment