Ninety-nine and… Part I

Seventy and one years ago to the day! August 25, 1942 the doctor told my dad Corina would give birth to the baby. However, neither one of them would live. But…God had a different plan! August 25, 2013 William Claude, that tiny two pound, nine ounce baby boy who surprised everyone, including the doctor, turned 71. Corina, my mother, exactly 71 years later, who was now 99 years of age, took her last breath.

Obie & Corina & PaulineNinety nine years and five months ago my mother, Corina Geneva Aanas was born. She was the second child of four born to Ludwig and Laura Aanas. Corina is the baby in this picture on her baby baptism day. Big brother, Oberlin, is the little boy and Aunt Pauline Reinertson, godmother, is holding Corina.

She was full blooded Norwegian and spoke only Norwegian as a child. She learned English when she started going to school.

Scan_Pic0018

Corina and Obie were in all their aunts weddings! Julie Aanas and Leonard Hauge were the bride and groom here. Peter Aanas and Helen Aanas were the attendants. They were Julie’s brother and sister. Oberlin was ring bearer and Corina was flower girl.

Obie & Corina Confirmation

Her family was Lutheran as were most Norwegians. She was confirmed along with her brother, Obie.

Four Aanas kids & Ted

Corina & Obie scouts

 

 

 

 

Two more children were born into the family: Luverne and Richard. From left: Corina, Luverne, Richard, Obie and Ted, their faithful dog.

 

 

 

Here they are with Grandma, Guri Aanas. Corina and Obie are in their boy scout and girl scout clothes.

Obie & Corina car

 

 

 

As Corina grew older, she and Obie remained very close.

Corina gradCorina graduated from LaCrosse High School in La Crosse, Wisconsin in 1933. She was beautiful!

 

To be continued…

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm now in my eighties! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a great-grandma now! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I've just retired from writing and editing a newsletter, Prime Time News, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Aanas, Birth, Corina, Dog, Family, Fun, History, Iowa, La Crosse, Luverne, Memories, Mother, Obie, Richard, Ted, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ninety-nine and… Part I

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Oh, this is such a wonderful story. What happened after graduation. (some of your pictures are missing between the story lines. Or I can’t get them. Such a nice job in sharing the story of your family and mother!

    Like

  2. Donna Sizemore says:

    She was very beautiful!

    Like

Leave a comment