Temptation…To Use A Cane

Jerry and I were recently waiting in an airport for our connecting flight to home. Another couple was sitting across from us, they seemed a little older or very close in age to us. We’re in our upper 70’s. We smiled but didn’t visit with them.

The man was over weight and just sat. A cane was leaning on his flight bag.  The woman was spry and energetic. She was up and down, walking the corridor, looking in stores, going to the restroom, buying food to share with him, etc.

Finally, it was time to board the plane. Anyone with small children or needing assistance could board first. We went because Jerry needed assistance from our landing plane to this gate. We were surprised to see this other couple also boarding! Was it the same couple? Oh yes, the man had had a cane. Well, the man walked up with no assistance and the spry little woman came very slowly, leaning on the cane that had been by his flight bag! Was this the same woman? She had trouble walking down the corridor to board the plane! What happened here?

It reminded me of a few days earlier when we were at the graduation of our granddaughter. The auditorium was packed. Two rows in front of us were ‘reserved for folks with canes or needing assistance’. We watched as folks read the signs and were tempted to sit there but then went on up the steps to a regular row. When a person with a cane came and sat down, one other person could sit with them. What a relief it was to not have to climb the steps and find a seat.

We began to see how tempting it would be to come in with a cane just so we could sit there! We have some canes for whenever we’ll need to use one. I took a picture of them to show you! ???????????????????????????????   Some canes are very creative. We, also, each have a unique walking stick made by a friend of ours. (Not pictured)

Had this couple in the airport experienced the same thing, the temptation to use a cane so they get priority care? Were they yielding to the temptation to use a simple cane? Oh my…

It’s also a reminder to me to be honest in all my ways. We never know who is watching. Certainly the Lord is watching. As a Christian I want to be honest in all my dealings. I don’t want anyone to wonder if I’m a Christian. I am!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Cane, Challenge, Encounter, Frustration, Jerry and Me, Memories, Mystery, Traveling, USA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

