Mother’s Day Without My Mother

I miss Mother so much. When I was a girl, giving her cards and small gifts, was the norm,  just like today with young kids. Mother 001This is how I remember Mother when I was a young girl. She was beautiful! She had very long hair which she braided and wrapped around her head twice!

I went away to school in my junior year of high school so I didn’t spend too many Mother’s Days with her after that. I was sixteen at the time.

I remember one Mother’s Day in 1950. We were in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  We always dressed up for church and that day was special. My dad bought aMy family 1950  flowers for Mother and himself. Mother’s was red, because her mother was living and Dad’s was white, because his mother had died. Actually Grandma Williamson had died only a few months before. In the picture is Richard, Dad, Mother, Lorraine, myself and Billy.

Another Mother’s Day I remember was when I was a college sophomore at Spring Arbor College. My parents were living in Winona Lake, Indiana at the time. The wife of the president of the college, Mrs. Smith, called me Saturday evening and said they were driving down to Winona Lake early Sunday morning. If I’d like to ride along to be with my mother on Mother’s Day, I could go with them! I was very excited. I didn’t call Mother…I wanted to surprise her!

We finally arrived and they dropped me off at our house. Oh, oh, no one was home! I went to the back of the house and found the hidden key. There I was at home alone on Mother’s Day.  My dad’s secretary saw me and asked if I’d like to go to her house for dinner, so I did. Then later I rode back to Spring Arbor, Michigan with the Smith family!

I discovered later that my dad was traveling and had suggested Mother take a bus and join him. I don’t remember where he was at the time. He just didn’t want her to be home alone on Mother’s Day! He was very thoughtful!

Years went by. Phone calls and cards, sometimes flowers.

A Mother’s Day in Colorado after she moved there to a nursing home was a good visit. Myself, Mother and my daughter, Pam.Mother's Day 2010

Now, she’s gone. She died August 25, 2013. So this is my first Mother’s Day without her. I love you, Mother. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Family, Me, Memories, Mother, Mother's Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

