Singing

I like singing praise to God! I like the new choruses we sing on Sunday morning in worship service but I LOVE singing hymns! There is something about singing a hymn…

Last evening Jerry and I went to our local Community Hymn Sing. It’s a time when Christian folks from all over our community, from all different denominations and who all love the same Lord, gather together to sing praises to our Heavenly Father. It’s a very inspirational evening!

We sing hymns together as a congregation and there’s also lots of special music:  soloists, mixed groups. instrumentalists, etc. Some of the instruments used are piano, organ, guitar, flute, clarinet, trumpet, dulcimer, trombone, cello, accordion and more.

Every ‘sing’ is different. A lot of planning goes into each one. Last evening a special group was there, Cool Lemen Jazz! They were COOL! Val Lemen and about six or seven other men played instruments and Cynthia, Val’s wife, sang: His Eye Is On The Sparrow, The Love of God and another one in between but I don’t know the name of it. Cynthia is a wonderful soloist and to sing with this jazz band is quite an accomplishment!!! It was amazing and a treat for all of us listening. The name Cool Lemen Jazz fits them well! I hope they’ll honor us again some time.

Midland Reformed Church offers their facility, at no cost. No offerings are ever taken at the ‘sing’ but the sanctuary, fellowship room and kitchen, foyer and rest rooms are all used. Their sound system and folks to run it, piano and organ, lighting, heating and air conditioning, coffee makers and etc. are also all used by the Community Hymn Sing with Midland Reformed Church’s blessing! And what a blessing!

The hymn sings are scheduled for every month that has five Sundays. However, it’s not on the fifth Sunday, it’s on the fourth Sunday! So the next sing will be June 22. If you live in the area…mark your calendar! June 22.

 

 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Friends, Hymn Sing, Hymns, Me, Memories, Michigan, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

