Uh…excuse me! I Have The Floor…

“Uh…excuse me! I have the floor!” Everyone stopped talking and looked at Ty! What was he talking about? “Grandma,” he looked right at me, “Do you remember that? You used to say that in Club 56 when you wanted our attention!”

My grandson, Ty, was home from college for Christmas. We’d gone to our son’s house for the evening to exchange gifts with the family. Oh yes, I remembered that! I used to teach a class we called Club 56. It was for fifth and sixth graders. Ty, as a fifth grader, was in the class. If I was standing in front teaching or just talking and a couple of kids started talking to each other, I would stop and wait. If they kept talking, I’d clear my throat and say, “Uh…excuse me! I have the floor!” I had explained to them that in a business meeting the person standing ‘has the floor’ and no one else can talk except that person. It shows respect to the person speaking. Club 56 wasn’t a business meeting but I still needed the kids to show respect and listen to me without interrupting by visiting with a friend. I was very surprised that stuck in Ty’s mind! That was about ten years ago! I wonder what else stuck in his mind???

We prayed, in Club 56, using the ACTS way. What’s that? I’ll explain it simply.

A – Adoration

C- Confession

T – Thanksgiving

S – Supplication

Adoration is praising God for who He is. Confession is asking forgiveness. Thanksgiving is thanking God. Supplication is giving our requests to God. I still pray this way today. It’s a simple yet effective way to pray.

Ah, Club 56. It’s still going on today, it just has a different leader. One of the helpers is still there from when he was my helper! Ken is dedicated to kids of this age and he sees their potential. So did I! Uh…so do I!

My Club 56 kids are all growing up. Some are in college, some have graduated from college. Some are married! Yes, some of my kids are married! One is getting married today, in fact in just a few minutes as I’m writing this! A few even have children! Oh my! One is a nurse, one is studying to become a lawyer!

A couple have been in jail. They’re good boys and just made some bad choices. I still pray for them.

Club 56I have a picture here from years ago but it’s not the oldest group of kids. I don’t seem to have pictures from the earliest classes of kids. I love everyone of the kids…I loved them then and I love them today!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Club 56, Family, Ken, Me, Memories, MFMC, Michigan, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

