Remembering 2013

Last year, 2013, is a year I will never forget… There were joys and sorrows, highs and lows. I’ll highlight the main events here.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????In March we celebrated my mother’s 99th birthday! We were sure she’d make it to 100 but decided to celebrate 99, too! We’d have another party at 100! We had family and friends come from Alaska, California, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, South Carolina and Tennessee! We met in a restaurant in a large banquet room. My brother, Bill, invited everyone to eat to their fill because he was paying the bill! We had a wonderful time and Mother was so happy!

IMG_4290

In June Jerry and I went to South Carolina to the high school graduation of our grandson, Max! We had a great time and are so proud of Max!

The huge maintenance job of washing and sealing our log home was done in June with the help of daughter and son-in-law, Pam and OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGene. It was a major job and now won’t have to be done again, in our life time, for our beloved log home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOur five children and grandchildren came to visit in July. Even with this great picture of everyone here, there were still six missing! We really missed them: Sean, Max, Tyler, Andrew, Katie and Sydney.

Pretty GrandmaIn August my mother fell and went downhill quickly. I flew to Colorado to be with her. She passed away on August 25, 2013. I was with her as she took her final breath, a blessing given to me by the Lord. Even though, at 99 years of age, I was mentally prepared for her to go at any time, I miss her tremendously and have a deep ache in my heart for her.

????????????????????????The plan was to bury my mother in Washington, beside my father, so a trip, with Pam and Gene, to Stanwood, Washington was taken.

???????????????????????????????In October we accomplished our goal of visiting all 50 states by going to Hawaii! We went with Pam and Gene, staying in a condo in Honolulu for four days and then taking a cruise to four islands. It was a dream trip, one we’ll never forget! I celebrated my 75th birthday aboard ship!

Jerry had surgery on his eyelid for cancer on the inside of his eyelid! He’s recovered now, thank goodness!

These are just the highlights of the year. There were many more happenings: deaths, trips, visitors, fun with grandchildren! All of these can read in detail and see pictures by going to the top of this page and clicking on ME or whatever topic. It will take you directly to the correct page, then scroll down to the post you want.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adventure, All in the day of me..., Archers, Bazans, Birthday, Celebrate, Colorado, Cruise, Dad, Death, Family, Friends, Grandchildren, Hawaii, Jerry and Me, Log Home, Max, Me, Memorial, Memories, Michigan, Mother, Pam and Gene, South Carolina, USA, Washington and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering 2013

  1. davidprosser says:

    I’m truly sorry for your loss which comes as a blow no matter how prepared you think you are. It looks like along with this major low you’ve had some major highs. Congratulations on such a close knit warm family who seem to be very supportive.
    Thanks so much for dropping in on my blog.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

