Maui – Day 3

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANorwegian Cruise Lines counts the day we boarded as day 1. So Sunday was day 2 but it was our first full day. We were at Maui for two days so actually this is day 3.

I love sun rise over the Pacific Ocean!

My cousin, Kay, went on a tour of sugar cane and coffee farms. She and her husband, Lucky, are Iowa farmers so it was very interesting to her. I wish I could write about her experience but she’s in Iowa and I’m in Michigan. I just remember how upbeat she was when she came back! She had had a good day!

??????????????????????This tree is growing out of a hunk of roots! If you look closely at the piece of root leaning against the fence you can see green shoots coming out of it!

???????????????????????????????

Pam, Gene, Jerry and I rode a bus to town. Just walking and observing can tell a lot about the culture of the island. The people are so interesting and friendly. We did some shopping, of course.

???????????????????????????????The flowers are so beautiful and plentiful!

???????????????????????????????

We ate lunch in an interesting restaurant on board the ship, Cadillac Diner. It was all about the 50’s! It was fun, sitting in this car, eating a chili dog and fries and drinking root beer!

???????????????????????????????                                                                                If you have a car, you must have gas!

???????????????????????????????Not far from this restaurant was a beautiful Bird of Paradise plant!

Everywhere we went there was beauty! On board and off board.

20131028_215427Before we left home, Kay and I had discussed over the phone, the up-coming anniversary of Pam and Gene. They would be celebrating 31 years on October 30.  So Kay and Jerry and I gave Pam and Gene a beautiful bouquet of flowers for their anniversary. We gave it to them early so they’d get to enjoy it a few days  before we left the ship and it had to stay there.

We had interesting cabin pets made by our house keeper.

????????????

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Anniversary, Cruise, Family, Flowers, Hawaii, Jerry, Kay, Maui, Me, Memories, Pam and Gene and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

