Our Dream Fulfilled

Way back in early 1959 as Jerry and I were dreaming of our lives together, I said I wanted us to travel the world, like my parents had done!  Jerry stated, in a matter of fact tone, that first of all, we would have to travel the US and go to all the states here, then maybe we could go to some other countries!

usa

I had been to many states because my family traveled a lot but this was something Jerry and I wanted and needed to do together. So I threw out all the states I’d already been to and started fresh with Jerry. He lived in Michigan and I was attending Spring Arbor College in Michigan signMichigan. My parents were living in Indiana and we were married in Indiana so Indiana signthose two states started us out…

Our wedding pic

…on our honeymoon, we visited all the northeastern states including all the New England states. We were on our way. New York, West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, Ohio signRhode_Island signConnecticut, Massachusetts signVermont, New Hampshire, Vermont signRhode Island, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Pennsylvania signPennsylvania and Ohio . We took Maine signpictures all along the way but guess what…we used a movie camera so now 54 Delaware signyears later I don’t have the pictures I want! I had the movie made into a video. Now I need to have it put onto a DVD.

Iowa signIllinois sign

My parents moved from Indiana to Colorado so our next big trip was to visit them there. Nebraska signIllinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Colorado.

Wyoming sign

Then my parents moved to Oregon! So we went on west to visit Montana signthem and also Lorraine, my sister’s OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANevada signfamily. Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, North  Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Washington signWashington, New_Mexico signWisconsin, Wyoming. South_Dakota signOn another trip west we went through South Dakota.

Our oldest Kansas signdaughter, Pam, went to college in Kansas so we drove her there, stopping to visit my brother, Richard and his family.

Alaska signFor our silver anniversary Jerry and I went on a cruise to Alaska!  We went on Holland/American Lines, our ship was the Nuiew Amsterdam.   It was a fabulous experience for us.

North_Carolina signOur daughter, Christy and her family, moved to North Carolina, Alabama signthen to Georgia, on to Alabama and finally to South Georgia signCarolina. So we’ve been to South_Carolina signKentucky signall these Tennessee signstates and to get to them we went through Mississippi, Kentucky and Tennessee.

Florida signWe went on a working trip to Haiti and on the way spent a day and night in Florida.

New_Mexico signWe drove to Mexico twice and those trips  took us through Texas, Missouri signArizona signOklahoma, Missouri,  Oklahoma signArkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Arizona and we met my younger brother, Bill and Vel in California.

Hawaii signThe crowning state for us was Hawaii! We went to Oahu, where we stayed in a condo for four days. Then we boarded a Norwegian Cruise Liner, Pride of America and cruised the islands, going to Hawaii (the big island), Maui, Kauai and back to Oahu! It was fabulous! We went with daughter and son-in-law, Pam and Gene. Our cousin, Kay, joined us. We’ll never forget this wonderful travel time!

After 54 years of marriage we have now been to all 50 states!

Along the way we’ve also gone on some fabulous trips around the world! We’ve been to five continents! North America, South America, Europe, Asia and Africa! We’ve traveled together to Malaysia, Jordan, Israel, Egypt, The Netherlands, Belgium, Paraguay, Brazil, Haiti, Mexico and Canada. I’ve also done some traveling on my own so I can also count Thailand and Japan.

Are we done traveling? Oh, I hope not…

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Africa, Alaska, Anniversary, Archers, Asia, Bazans, Celebrate, Europe, Family, Gene, Haiti, Hawaii, Israel, Jerry, Jordan, Kay, Malaysia, Me, Memories, Mexico, North America, Pam, Paraguay, South America, States, Thailand, The Netherlands, Traveling, USA, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Dream Fulfilled

Leave a Reply

