Do You Remember?

Those of you who are old enough, do you remember what you were doing the day President Kennedy was shot and killed? This question was asked on TV. Yes, I remember and so does my daughter, Pam! I was at home with my two little children, Pammy and Teddy. I heard the news on TV. I was in shock. I went right to the phone, called Jerry at Dow Chemical Co and relayed to him what had just been reported. The phone lines were shut down in Dow right after I called! I was in shock all day and all night and even for several days. I loved President Kennedy.

Pam told me, last evening as we talked about this, that she also remembers the day! She was a very little girl! Here’s what she remembers: I was wearing a blue dress and was folding clothes when an announcement came over the TV. I called her daddy and then she remembers me sitting on the sofa, crying. She didn’t know why I was crying, just that I was crying. It seemed strange to her for me to cry!

Do you remember?

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Daughter, Death, Disappointment, Family, Jerry, Me, Memories, Pam, Telephone, Television, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

