Cancer Is Gone…Again

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis morning my husband, Jerry, had surgery to remove cancer from his eyelid. His lower eyelid, of all places!

Cancer isn’t new to Jerry. He’s a cancer survivor. He’s had prostate and colon cancer and numerous basal cell cancers on his face. He’s had cancers removed from his cheeks, ear, nose, and now his eyelid.

He’s sleeping now. I’m not a good nurse but I’m learning how to take care of him. Our daughter-in-law, Jessica, lives next door and thankfully, she’s a RN! She helping me and showing me how to care for him. She and our son, Rob, went with us this morning and stayed throughout the ordeal.

The surgeon, Dr. Hazen, removed the cancerous spot and sent it off to pathology. They checked it and sent a message back within an hour saying, no, he didn’t get it all. So back to surgery they took him. After the second try, pathology said, okay, he got it all.

So, now the healing process has begun. Ice packs, Motrin, salve, rest, ice packs, etc. We go back in a week for Dr Hazen to examine it and see how he’s healing.

How I praise God! You see, every time his cancer has been detected early enough for him to recover from it. I’m a very fortunate wife. We have a very good family doctor who checks out suspicious symptoms! You see, Jerry’s grandfather died at 35. His father died from cancer at 48. His two brothers died from cancer at 67. Jerry is 77. Yes, I’m a very fortunate wife. Thank You, Lord!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Doctor, Family, Jerry, Jerry and Me, Jessica, Me, Michigan, Nurse, Rob, Rob & Jessica, Surgery, USA and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

