My Last Farewell

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe morning after Mother’s memorial service we, Jerry, Pam, Gene and I, headed for Washington. Mother’s ashes were to be buried with Dad’s at Stanwood, Washington. I just can’t believe both of my parents are gone.

Jerry and Gene loading the car.

I had been at my brother’s house for three weeks! When I went I expected to be there less then one week!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So we had good-byes to say. Jennifer, Heidi (dog), Chris Williamson and Lisa Naughton  grandchildren of Mother.

?????????????????????????????

 

 

 

 

 

Jacob was waiting across the street for his school bus. He is the son of Jennifer and Chris.

We also said good-bye to Christy and Tim, our daughter from Columbia, South Carolina and our son from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. They drove to Denver and then flew to their own cities.

There were others to say good-bye to too but some we met up with, in Washington later, for the inurnment.

Pam, our daughter and Gene, our son-in-law, drove us to Washington and then all the way back to Michigan! Gene did all the driving! He wanted to… That was a lot of driving and a lot of miles for four people to ride together without even one cross word spoken!

??????????????When we got to Portland, Oregon we found the cemetery where my sister, Lorraine, is buried. She died, suddenly, on September 4, 2012.  We put flowers on her grave and on my brother-in-law, Bob Meadows grave.

 

I wrote about this in a previous blog…We Found It

???????????????????

 

On to Washington.

A beautiful bouquet of flowers for Grandma Williamson, from the grandchildren and great-grandchildren, was delivered to the cemetery. Other flowers were from grandchildren, Rhonda and Sonja.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Red Roses were brought by friends, Gene and Beth Stewart.

 

 

 

An inurnment service is short and to the point. A time of committing a person’s ashes to OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAthe ground.  Rev. Chris Williamson, grandson of Mother, son of Bill and nephew of me, read scripture, spoke a few words and prayed. The sun was so bright he couldn’t see to read without his sunglasses! He did a good job and I was proud of him. Mother and Dad would have been proud too!

 

 

A very touching ending was when friend, Gene Stewart, led us in singing, Amazing Grace.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABeth and Gene Stewart and Harold Christopher, long time friends of both Mother and Dad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Richard, son of Mother, older brother of me and Cookie.

Bill,  son 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAof Mother and my younger brother, with Vel. Somehow I neglected to take their picture at the cemetery so this is one I took at my house when they were visiting us in July.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Eric, Rhonda, Mackenzie, Austin, Christine and Sonja all came up from Portland. Eric, Rhonda, Christine and Sonja were grandchildren of Mother. Mackenzie and Austin, daughters of Eric and Rhonda were great-granddaughters of Mother.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen cousins are spread across the country it’s hard to get together. I took a picture of the cousins who met in Washington. Rhonda from Oregon, Chris from Colorado, Pam from Illinois, Sonja, Christine, Austin and Mackenzie all from Oregon. Five were grandchildren and two were great-grandchildren of Mother.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALast, but definitely not least, is a picture of Pam and Gene and Jerry. Pam and Gene, grandchildren of Mother, daughter and son-in-law to Jerry and me; Jerry, son-in-law to Mother, husband of mine!

 

 

 

We finally left the cemetery and went to OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWarm Beach Camp where we had a cozy cottage waiting for us!

 

 

 

 

????????????????????????The next morning we drove back to the cemetery to see the grave with the stone in place. We rearranged the flowers and finally said a very last, sad goodbye.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAJust another view looking straight down on the flowers and the grave stone. Mother’s name is on the stone but the date will be added later.

Goodbye, Mother and Dad! I WILL see you again!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Archers, Austin, Bazans, Bill & Vel, Brother, Cemetery, Chris, Christine, Colorado, Corina, Cousins, Dad, Daughter, Death, Dog, Eric, Family, Flowers, Friends, Illinois, Jerry and Me, Lisa, Lorraine, Mackenzie, Me, Memories, Michigan, Mother, Nephew, Nieces, Oregon, Pam and Gene, Rhonda, Richard & Cookie, Sisters, Son-in-law, Sonja, Traveling, USA, Washington and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

