Oh, What To Do…

I love to write. I love to report news. I love being creative. As editor of a bi-weekly newsletter I get to do all of the above! It’s very rewarding…it’s also challenging. It can become emotional. I’ve been read – ignored, praised – criticized, interview appointments kept – stood up, you name the situation and I’ve probably experienced it. I don’t think people mean to be mean but in this ‘hurry up’ kind of life we now live we all tend to put ‘me’ first. Contributing to a newsletter is not a priority.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve just taken a month off by necessity. It’s been suggested that this would be a good time to make a change: that I go from bi-weekly to monthly. Being bi-weekly it’s a true newsletter. I report the latest news in our circle of readers. I take pride in this. Becoming monthly would mean a change in the whole purpose of being a newsletter. No one likes or needs old news.

It would become an inspirational paper. Folks need to be inspired, this is true. I would still interview and write short life stories. The pastor’s column would still appear. Prayer requests would no longer be current. Reports of current happenings would disappear. I, as editor, would lose part of my passion.

Let me review how I got this job in the first place. In our church I’ve always taught a class. I think it’s fair to say I’ve taught every age except the older folks. When I finally retired because I lacked the energy of my students, one of my pastors asked what I intended to do now. I didn’t have an answer. He suggested I pray about it because if I did nothing he feared I’d become stagnant.

One day as several of us women were visiting, the idea of a newsletter for the seniors of our church came up. It sounded like a good idea. Suddenly my friend, Joan Schloemann, stood up, pointed her finger at me and said, “Anita, you should be the one to write it!”

Oh my. I didn’t know how to write a newsletter. Well, I was literally up all night, that night, writing a newsletter! When we went to church in the morning I had a newsletter printed out to hand to Joan! Yes, this is what she had in mind!

I felt and still do feel this was God’s answer to my prayer of what I was to do next. I’m starting my eighth year as editor of Prime Time News!

When I look back at those first newsletters, I’m embarrassed. But I did my best. Later, my brother, Richard Williamson, an editor and writer, helped me make it a newsletter I’m proud of.

So here I am today and I have to make a decision. I’m really bad at making choices. I want to keep it the same, every other week… I’m not as young as I used to be…I’ll be 75 next month! If I change it to monthly I’ll be doing what someone else has suggested…

I have the newsletter ready for this Sunday. I think I’ll wait to see the reaction of folks who read it. Will they be glad to have it back? Do they care?

To be continued…

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Choices, Decisions, Me, MFMC, Michigan, Newsletter, Prime Time News, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh, What To Do…

  1. Zoanne Clark says:

    I love getting the news about our friends in Midland, MI. My suggestion is pray and see what God wants you to do…not necessarily what someone else wants you to do 🙂 Just my two cents worth.

    Like

  2. Lena Rae says:

    Your work precedes you – I have heard from Gaylord your newsletters are good! They will still be good either way you go. I’ve had to accept limitations long before my age, due to bad health. It hasn’t been easy but you get use to it evidently. And the consequence of not listening to the voice of reason, which was God speaking, has convinced me. I don’t like being sick! I’d rather do less and be happy and healthy. Interestingly as a result of listen to that “still small voice” I have been led to other ministry that fits my situation. Isn’t God amazing!
    Praying you will know how God is leading you.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for helping me ‘see’ both sides. Yes, God is amazing! I still have my health, thank the Lord, so I’m leaning toward keeping it the same. But if God shows me in a clear way that I need to change, I will. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

