Reflections…

There’s no place like home…yet my trip to Colorado and then on to Washington was full ofLog Home family, love, caring, closeness, interests, friends, nature, details, good-byes, spending, reminiscing, and so much more.

This morning as we reflected on our trip Jerry noted that we didn’t see even one traffic mishap, not even a fender bender. The weather was almost perfect. We had a few sprinkles one day… We thank God for His presence, His  provision, His glorious creation, His love, His protection…

usaThe 14 states we covered were: Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin!

The order in which I covered the states was: Michigan, Illinois, Colorado, Utah, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Indiana. I missed Iowa (my home state and favorite state of all) and Nebraska because I flew to Colorado but Jerry, Pam and Gene drove to Colorado. From there on we traveled together.

I never dreamed I’d be gone a month! I planned on about a week. My mother at 99 1/2 years had fallen and also had a touch of pneumonia so I flew to Colorado to be with her. My intention was to be with Mother for a few days and then go north to Greeley to be with my older brother for a few days.

However, everything changed. On the fifth day of my visit Mother passed away. It was time…it’s never time…

Time stopped. My brothers and I planned a memorial service in Colorado and an inurnment in Washington where my dad’s ashes are buried.

I wrote about each state as we traveled. However, by the time we finally got to Illinois I was burned out. Illinois, Indiana and Michigan were left out of my travel excursions. I feel bad now but at the time I was all burned out. I’ll make up for it next time…

I’m resting, recuperating, getting caught up… Laundry is done, unpacking is almost done… what’s next…

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Brother, Colorado, Death, Family, Friends, Gene, Good-bye, Home, Idaho, Log Home, Me, Memorial, Memories, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Mother, Oregon, Pam, Richard & Cookie, Son-in-law, USA, Vel, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

