A Tough Day…All In The Day Of Me

317542_2103397264542_1233803615_32014556_727552404_nToday was the toughest day of my life. When I went to the nursing home this morning Mother was sleeping. I simply sat and let her sleep. I even dozed off for a few minutes. Then some workers came in to freshen her up so I went out to the lobby and waited. When I went back to her room she looked so bad… I sat down beside her and held her hand. She stirred so I said, “I’m Anita. I’m just sitting here with you.” She seemed to understand and I even felt like she liked it that I was there. She was so sick… In the midst of it all, she said to me, very haltingly, “I don’t…think…I’m going…to make it…to…100.” I told her it’s okay because we celebrated her life at 99 years last March and had a wonderful time. She smiled.

The nurses are so good with her. This is a very good nursing home. The picture of her here is when she was about 97 or 98. She was always cold… In this picture you can see she has a jacket on over her top, then a blanket around her shoulders and back. For years she has complained about being cold. Now she only has her nightgown on and a sheet to cover her! She’s not cold any more! It’s strange…

The middle of the afternoon other family members began to arrive. My brother and sister-in-law, Bill and Vel, came. Then Lisa, their daughter, came. Lisa loves Grandma and because she lives here has lunch with Mother every Wednesday. They laugh together over cute sayings and have become very close. Today when Lisa asked how she was feeling, Mother answered, “I’m…fit…as…a…fiddle!” We all laughed and it broke the tension in the room.

Others began arriving and soon there were seven of us. I planned on staying all night and just sleeping in her lounge chair, but it seemed that she improved a tiny bit so I decided to come back to Bill’s, get a good night’s sleep and return in the morning. Hopefully she’ll get a good night’s sleep too.

I love her so much and I thank God for giving me such a wonderful, Christian mother.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Bill & Vel, Brother, Colorado, Daughter, Family, Lisa, Memories, Mother, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Tough Day…All In The Day Of Me

  1. Dean Beguhl says:

    Moments with your mother are precious. I remember my mothers prayers and believe they are still actively shaping the events and outcomes of my life.

    Like

  2. Pam says:

    That is such a lovely picture of her you posted. I am praying for both of you.

    Like

  3. Sue Husted says:

    Goodbye (Anita’s) mom. I just know you are special from what Anita shares about your life. Glad to know you from the Internet FB posts. I’ll look you up in heaven, when I get there. I hope you preserve that beautiful smile that I’ll be looking for. Luv you and your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

