Yesterday…The Day That Was…

What a day yesterday was! Tuesday, August 20. I didn’t know what to do about going to ?????????????????????????????????????????????????????see my mother, age 99 1/2 years. I had a ticket purchased for August 31. What if she didn’t live that long? I’d never forgive myself for not going now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy wonderful son-in-law, Gene, took all my information and changed my ticket to a one-way ticket to Denver. (I have no idea how long I’ll need to be there.) First he had a ticket to book for late afternoon to Chicago and on to Denver the next morning. Okay, I can be ready late afternoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy wonderful daughter-in-law, Jessica, came over to shampoo and cut my hair. Then Gene called, after 12:00 noon, to ask if I could be ready by 2:15! The plane would leave at 3:15. I’d arrive in Denver in the evening!

Okay, I’ll be ready! I had two hours to get all ready and be at the air port. Thank goodness we’re only about 20-30 minutes from the airport. I flew into action! Jerry was still taking his nap. I mopped the kitchen floor…folded a load of clothes…picked up the house. By then Jerry was up and I told him I needed to be at the airport by 2:15! Next job…a quick shower! Then I packed my suitcase!

2:00 PM – Ah, we were ready to leave. As we sat in the car ready to pull out I wondered where my wallet was…Oh no, I couldn’t find it in my pockets or in my computer bag. We both went back in the house to look. It was no where… I had emptied the laundry shoot so I checked the dirty clothes. Nope… Then I looked in a basket of towels…there it was!!! Oh my goodness!

Well, we got to the airport about 2:30. Whew!!!  Since I hadn’t taken time to eat since breakfast I was hungry. I bought a salad and an English muffin to eat on the plane. As I was boarding the plane I realized I didn’t have any dressing for my salad and no fork! I left my bag on my seat and ran back off the plane to get what I needed for my salad.

In Chicago I had a looooong walk to get to my departure gate. My plane delayed about an hour! We finally boarded and had a smooth flight to Denver. Usually when I fly to Colorado I take a shuttle down to Castle Rock where Bill meets me to take me home. I’ve always called ahead and reserved a seat on the shuttle. This trip I had no time to call ahead for a reservation.

I made my way to where the shuttles pick up passengers, only to discover I had gone the wrong direction! Back into the airport I went to the other side and out I went to where the shuttles were waiting for passengers. I found one that said Colorado Springs on the side. “Does this shuttle stop at Castle Rock ?” I asked the driver. Yes, it did. Oh good. I told him I don’t have a reservation. He said he didn’t have a full load anyway so it was alright. The time was right around 7:30 PM. Just out of curiosity I asked what time the last shuttle of the day goes south. He said this one was it! The last shuttle of the day! Oh my goodness! I just made it!

photo (14) - CopyVel, my wonderful sister-in-law, and

Lisa - CopyLisa, my wonderful niece, were at the motel where the shuttle stops,  waiting for me.

God was definitely with me this entire day! Right down to catching the last shuttle of the day and without a reservation!

Yesterday…the day that was!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Family, Flying, Gene, Jessica, Lisa, Me, Memories, Shuttle, Vel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yesterday…The Day That Was…

  1. Pam says:

    Thank goodness it all worked out! You were meant to be there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

