An Interesting Day All In The Day Of Me

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????My mother, age 99 1/2, has been having some physical problems the last few days. I’ve been so worried about her. I have a ticket to go to visit her in a couple of weeks but maybe I  shouldn’t wait a couple weeks. Maybe I need to go now. My brother, Bill, lives very near her and has been calling me often to keep me informed. She had improved quite a bit last evening. This morning I kept wondering how she made it through the night. On our way to church I decided to call the nursing home to get their word on how she was this morning. I knew Bill wouldn’t have gone yet to see her. The person I talked to was telling me she seemed better this morning and was talking and wanting something for breakfast…then she asked if I’d like to talk with her! Yes, I’d love to talk with her if she’s able. So the aide walked down a long hall to my mother’s room and gave the phone to my mom. We had a nice, short, but nice visit! She’s back to her old self!!! Thank You, Lord. What a relief to me. I’ll keep my ticket for a couple of weeks away.

1. Our circumstances can change in an instant! They often do.

2. There is a slow change in a feeling of closeness with God. Sometimes the feeling becomes distant.

3. Every moment of every day I have the ability to turn to God.

These were notes I wrote during the sermon this morning. I must guard against letting my relationship with God become stagnant. I cherish my personal relationship with Jesus.

We crashed a baby shower luncheon today after church! We didn’t get an invitation but we’ve known Mark, the husband/future daddy, since before he was born! His mother said it was a mistake that we didn’t get an invitation… So we stayed. Mark’s mother got up to tell a little about when Mark was born. She said how it was getting closer to Halloween every day and she didn’t want to give birth to her new baby on Halloween. October 30 was almost over…11:29 and a few seconds and Mark was born. She was so relieved…I immediately raised my hand and even stood up! Everyone was looking at me… “I remember back then and I was hoping Mark would be born would be born on my birthday! My birthday is Halloween!” Everyone laughed! When they began opening gifts we left…since we didn’t know about it ahead of time we didn’t have a gift… We’ll buy something for this new baby soon and get it to them. Chicago is their home.

I’d been waiting all day for my Dutch friend, Vivian, to call me. Actually she did call earlier…I forgot to turn the ringer off on my phone. Church was almost over when my phone rang! The pastor was praying so I just grabbed my purse and ran out of the sanctuary! Thankfully it was a soft ring. It was Vivian but I didn’t answer quick enough and she hung up. We talked later this afternoon. She and her two sons, Tom and Jasper, also Tom’s girlfriend, are in town and are coming here for supper tomorrow evening! I’m so excited! I haven’t seen them since we went to The Netherlands to visit them back in the 90’s. Tom and Jasper were boys, now they’re men. I’m cooking an American dinner for them! Country fried steak, mashed potatoes, corn-on-the-cob, tossed salad, blueberry pie. I know…apple pie is more American but it’s also a lot more work…!

Now Jerry and I are relaxing. He’s watching football and I’m writing on my computer. We’ll soon be going upstairs.

It’s been an interesting day and a very good day.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Baby Shower, Cell Phone, Church, Friends, Halloween, Me, Mother, The Netherlands and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Interesting Day All In The Day Of Me

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    A treasure to have your Mother for so many years. Do go as soon as possible. Life is very delicate and so fleeting… God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

