What An Evening This Has Been

Oh boy, it’s fun to write blogs of nice days, where everything comes up roses! In about an hour’s time this evening everything turned up-side-down for me!

We’re getting ready to go to our family camp. It’s such a big job to pack our camper and be ready to go when Jerry says it’s time to go! There are only the two of us…how on earth did I get everything packed when there were seven of us???!!! I’m taking a break here because I’ve got to write this down! It’s been one of those evenings!

I was filling our pill containers, you know the kind that hold all the pills for a week. Oh no…one of Jerry’s pills was almost gone! It was after 8:00 PM! Jerry said I couldn’t call the drug store because they were already closed. I was pretty sure the store stays open until nine. I looked for my phone so I could call the prescription in…

Where’s my phone? I hunted and hunted to no avail. I called my number on Jerry’s phone so mine would ring and I could find it…no ring. We looked up the phone # of the restaurant where we ate supper. No phones were left there. I’m getting sick.

I called the drug store on Jerry’s phone. Yes, they’re open until 9:00 but there is a problem. This prescription has run out, the pharmacist will have to call the doctor’s office tomorrow to see if it can be refilled, “But…we’re leaving in the morning and won’t be back for eight days! He has to have his medicine!” I informed the girl. Okay, they’re so nice they gave me enough pills to hold him over until we get back.

I was still looking for my phone…I kept calling my number hoping it would ring and I could find it…no. It wasn’t in our house. I called, in the garage, hoping I’d hear a ring in the car…no. I finally walked out to the 5th wheel and called my number again…it rang!!! Yeah! I found my phone!

I drove to the drug store and got there after 8:30 but they were so kind. The girl had enough pills in a bottle to last Jerry until we get home. Meantime they’ll call the doctor and get it refilled.

As I was driving away from the drug store I passed a 7/11 store. Oh my goodness they’re giving free Slurpee’s today because it’s 7/11! I deserve a Slurpee after all I’ve been through! I parked my car again and walked up to the door with a huge smile on my face! Oh no…the free Slurpee’s ended at 7:00 PM! The one time I want a Slurpee and I can’t have one, unless I pay for it. Well, I’m not going to.

I’m driving home, I live in the country. It’s a very pleasant drive. The speed limit is 50 and that’s what I was driving. Suddenly a young deer comes running up to the road…! I slammed on my brakes! I guess I scared the deer because he turned around and ran away! There was only one, sometimes there are several. So I cautiously drove the rest of the way home.

What an evening! And on top of it all, I’ve got a horrible cough. It comes when I least expect it and just takes my breath away. But we’ll be leaving in the morning. Actually we live close enough to come home any time and we do sometimes come home during the week to take care of things here.

So there you have it…all in the day of me! Life is not dull…life is interesting and fun… sometimes nerve wracking but I wouldn’t change it for anything. God is good.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adventure, All in the day of me..., Deer, Family Camp, Medicine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What An Evening This Has Been

  1. Laura says:

    Wow, that is so lucky the girl gave Jerry enough pills to last for the trip. My mom has had this problem many times, we are never so lucky! I was a bit confused about the 5th wheel where you found your phone though… what does that mean? and I didnt even know it was free slurpy day until Paige pointed it out! That sucks that it ends at 7pm 😦 How unfair! They should have given it to you anyways, it still is 7/11 after all! haha oh well 🙂 And if I almost hit a deer that would give me a near heart attack… how scary! Im glad you and the deer are alright 🙂 I almost hit a cat once.. thank goodness I didnt! I hope your trip goes well, Im sure it will be very relaxing compared to your day today. And what a day it was… thankfully they only come maybe twice a year or so 🙂 I love you!

    Like

    • Hi Laura! I love you too! I just wish we could be together once in a while more than we are! But it’s nice to connect on fb. A fifth wheel is like a trailer except it hooks into a wheel in the back of a pick-up truck. It pulls much easier than a trailer does behind a car. 🙂 Ours is a small 5th wheel, most folks have huge ones!

      Like

Leave a Reply

