There’s No Place Like Home

I woke up about seven o’clock this morning and I was actually in my own bed! We arrived home last night after 1:00 AM. I’m not sure of the exact time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe had a great time with family both in South Carolina, with Christy’s family

20130516_201201

 

 

 

 

and in Chicago, with Pam and Gene. We even had a few sightings of Matthew!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

We flew from Columbia, S Carolina to Chicago on Monday.  It was cloudy most of the way but of course we were above the clouds. I missed what would have been a great photo op! We were over Chicago, the clouds parted in a huge circle, I looked down at the tops of all the sky scrapers! What a scene! I wasn’t expecting it and I didn’t have my camera handy. Oh, what a picture that would have been!

 

We took the train home from Chicago last

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAevening. I love riding the train…but not last night. It was the worst! I wanted it to be the best because Jerry was with me. I wanted him to experience a pleasant trip so we could go by train again.

We did have one very pleasant experience! A person saw our confused looks as we stood not knowing which gate was ours. She offered to help us and said she wasn’t a worker there but felt we needed help. She came to our rescue twice and admitted she had once needed help and someone helped her so now she was paying back by helping us!

I goofed in getting our seats so we had to ride backwards all the way. There were some seats facing forward but the train was full so we couldn’t just change seats.

I love children but…a little girl about four years old drove us crazy almost the whole way! She was obnoxious and wanted everybody’s attention! They got off in Lansing and I was sooooo glad!

We had about a two hour delay while we were in Indiana! A train ahead of us had a problem and was part way on our track! They had to fix that train so we could move OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAforward! We didn’t even have a nice scene to look at out our window!

This tree was the main subject! The white lines are reflections of lights inside the train!

We finally arrived in Flint and there sat our Buick Rendezvous  just waiting so patiently for us! She drove us home and we fell into our own bed! Wonderful!

Log HomeThere’s no place like home!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Banfords, Bazans, Chicago, Family, Friend, Home, Illinois, South Carolina, Train, Traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Iris Duff says:

    Glad you made it safe and sound!

    Like

Leave a Reply

