Jerry Won The Battle Over The Bird Feeder

We used to have such a battle with squirrels and raccoon’s over the bird feeder. But Jerry took it on as a personal battle to be won and…he won!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe only use sun flower seeds for the feeder. That seems to be the favorite food of all birds and wild animals. Squirrels and raccoons were eating it all and the poor birds were getting none!!! Then Jerry heard if he used PC pipe they couldn’t climb up the slippery pipe. Sure enough they try and try but they always slip back down! He put a stove pipe at the top just to make sure they couldn’t get up to the feeder. It has worked. The squirrels can’t climb this pole.

We had a raccoon, a big raccoon, that came every night. Somehow he was getting up to the feeder, taking the top off and cleaning it out…every night!!! We had a little cement dog at the foot of the pole and I finally said maybe the raccoon was standing on top of the dog so he was closer to the feeder. He then could get his hand (paw) on the feeder and pull himself up! We moved the dog.  But the raccoon was able to climb the pole and get the lid off the feeder. In the morning the roof would be on the ground and the feeder empty, so Jerry and raccoon still had a battle. Every day Jerry would change the way he secured the feeder. He put a strap up over the top of the feeder but the raccoon would get it off! He was a smart raccoon. He was really big and we knew we’d better not tangle with him in person because he’d win that battle for sure!

But finally one day Jerry said, “Okay, I’ve got it! The raccoon can’t get the top off the feeder this time.” That night I was sitting upstairs in the loft by my open window. About midnight I heard a loud gun shot. Oh oh, I thought, our raccoon must have been bothering some neighbors too! In the morning our feeder was intact with no evidence of a raccoon trying to get the roof off. In fact, we had no more raccoon problems. Jerry was actually disappointed! He was liking this challenge!

We have three kinds of squirrels that come to eat the seeds that fall to the ground. Black OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAsquirrels, brown squirrels, gray squirrels. I don’t have a picture of a gray squirrel. This is the little black squirrel.

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABrown squirrel. They never come at the same time! It was raining when this one came so his tail helps keep the rain off him!

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe have a tree a few feet away that we have fun watching the squirrels trying to figure out if they can jump to the feeder! They never do… The branch he is on is only about eight inches long! It’s been broken off. We can just see their minds working…can I make it, if I jump, or not…

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s really not very far but too far for them to jump! You can see the little black squirrel on top of our water fall! I scared him so he jumped off the tree.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe had two baby squirrels this morning!

 

 

 

 

Last night, as it was getting dark, I saw another animal come sneaking up to eat the seeds! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think it’s a ‘possum but it’s the biggest one I’ve ever seen! I’m lucky I got as good a picture as I did!

 

 

 

 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Animals, Bird Feeder, Created by God, Disappointment, Frustration, Jerry, Me, Michigan, Mystery, Squirrels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jerry Won The Battle Over The Bird Feeder

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    They are so much fun to watch. Did you ever find out what, who shot the raccoon?
    A man we knew solved the feeder problem by installing another metal pipe over the pole supporting the feeder. He used an 8 inch or larger metal pipe such as a vent pipe. It worked. The critters would climb the pole and get inside the outer pole and couldn’t reach the feeder – as long as they could not jump over from an overhanging limb.

    Love the photos.

    Like

    • Thanks Ray’s Mom! No, I don’t know who shot the raccoon. We do still have some raccoon’s that come around but they’re not as aggressive as that one was! I’m glad for the animals that come to eat the seed on the ground so it isn’t going to waste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

