Prime Timer’s Luncheon

Today was our last Prime Timer’s Luncheon until September.  The busy summer will soon be upon us. We had a good time at our luncheon today. There were only about 30 of us, a rather small group but lots of folks are gone and others are busy with graduations, etc.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe theme today was Our Heritage. Folks were to bring a dish representing their nationality. There were foods from Germany, Norway, Mexico, Canada, USA, Ireland, etc. I took Fiskegrateng! That’s a fish and macaroni dish from Norway! It’s good! A few of the other dishes were Pumpkin Mousse, German potato salad and Irish Soda Bread, and German chocolate cake. There were more but these are the ones I know for sure.

This first picture shows folks in line getting their food.  I was asked to take my International doll collection for decorations! I loved doing that. I have a few pictures. On the food table you can see my Hmong doll. Her clothes were made like Hmong people wear to their celebration days. A very dear Hmong friend made her for me several years ago.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe put several dolls on each table with labels so folks knew what country they represented. It was very colorful.  These dolls are Native American.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis display was on the dessert table. The dolls were from Japan and Malaysia. The large parasol is from Thailand.

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis line of Dutch houses came from The Netherlands, the doll also. This is one of my favorite places to visit!

 

 

At the end of the dinner we watched pictures of Haiti by Kelby Klassen. He’s just returned from Haiti. Some of the pictures were so sweet and some were heart wrenching. His heart is definitely in Haiti!

 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Decorations, Friends, Heritage, MFMC, Prime Timer's Luncheon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

