My Friend Is Gone

My dear friend, Roger, is gone. He breathed his last breath last evening. I didn’t even know until this morning. I saw him last, a couple of weeks ago. He was such a good friend. I should tell you he was my 99 year old friend. So I’m not in shock but I am sad. We had good visits and laughed a lot! He was the friend whose birthday was on April Fool’s Day and my birthday is on Halloween so we had fun teasing each other and having something in common with each other. He and his wife had been married 75 or 76 years, I’m not sure which. It doesn’t matter…that’s a long time! She’s my friend too. I wonder how she’ll be now without him. It’s so sad to lose your life mate.

In his younger years Roger was a policeman. In fact, the last few years of his career he was caption of the police force in our fair city! I didn’t know him back then. I’ve only known him for about five years or so. But we became very good friends. We talked about all kinds of things, including God. He said he read his Bible every day but he wasn’t quite sure if he believed it all. I told him I read mine too and I do believe it. I can only hope he made his peace with God. I want to see him again some day!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in April Fool's Day, Birthday, Death, Friends, Halloween, Me, Memories, Relationship with God, Roger and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Friend Is Gone

  1. Ruth says:

    Sorry to read of your loss Anita. Prayers for the family…

    Like

  2. Ray's Mom says:

    Death is hard – so true.

    Like

  3. tersiaburger says:

    Sorry for your loss. You will see your friend again. God is a God of Mercy and Grace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

