Books and Bookends

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI love to read. I have soooo many books. This picture only shows a portion of them in my little reading room. The shelves actually go around the corner!

Some of my favorite authors are: Glen Williamson (He was my dad!), Francine Rivers, John Grissom, Mary Higgins Clark, Terry Blackstock and many others.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI also have some very special bookends. So I’m sharing these with  my readers today, too.

This is a set given to me for Christmas, by a former boy friend, Harvey, about 57 years ago! He had been raised in India by missionary parents so these bookends came from India. The elephant is made of ivory. The books being held by these bookends are very precious to me. They are all very old. There is a Bible in Norwegian given to my grandmother at her confirmation when she was a teenager! There are old hymnbooks from the Free Methodist Church and the Methodist Church, just words no music. My mother’s New Testament is here. My grandmother’s five year diary is the green book. This covered 1937 to 1941 so my birth date is recorded in it. There are other meaningful books here. I OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAlike this wall so I’m going to show you how it looks! I love tapestries! My aunt gave this one to me.

?????????????????????????????????????These books are on top of a bookcase made by my husband when he was in high school! It’s full of very old books. Some are my own books from 2nd and 3rd grade when my family lived in Covington, Oklahoma. We had to buy our own school books there, so of course, we got to keep them. I have my second grade reader, Friendly Village, and my third grade reader, If I Were Going. I also have my geography book from 3rd grade.

My dad was a chef, preacher: pastor/evangelist and a  writer. I have copies of all his books. He had 13 books published plus he wrote a book on our family history, titled Corina/Glen. I keep one copy of each of his books between a set of bookends made by his father, my grandfather! I love

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAthem!

Here’s a close up of one of them. The only problem is there has to be plenty of room on each side for the base.

So actually they are perfect for keeping my dad’s books OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAtogether for show! I have my dad’s glasses in his glass case on left side and his wallet laying on the right side. To the left is a picture of him. I miss him so…

????????????????????????????My parents went to Mexico in 1968 and brought a set of horse head bookends to me. I wish I knew what kind of stone they’re carved from. They’re really beautiful.

So there you have it…a large portion of my books…but not all of them!

My daughter, Pam, recently gave me a Kindle so now I’m enjoying reading books without adding them to my bookshelves!

Oh, the joy of reading!

I must share one more book with you because it’s been a favorite of my grandchildren!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Bremen-town Musicians. I was at a yard sale one day, a few years ago and saw this book for sale. Of course I bought it! A year later I was driving past the same house and they were having another sale! I stopped and what to my wondering eyes should appear but this very statue of the donkey, the dog, the cat and the rooster from The Bremen-Town Musicians! What a find! I bought it. My grandchildren and I have had many wonderful times of reading this and making the music of the musicians!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Bookends, Books, Family, Gifts, Me, Memories, Oklahoma, Pam, Reading, School, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Books and Bookends

  1. Nichole Eck says:

    What lovely bookends!

    Like

  2. lesleycarter says:

    I never use bookends, just the bookcase. Creative piece 🙂

    Like

  3. Good site you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Like

  4. Hello there, I discovered your web site by way of Google even as
    searching for a related subject, your web site got here
    up, it appears to be like good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just turned into aware of your weblog thru Google, and located that it’s really informative.
    I’m going to be careful for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you continue this in future.
    Lots of folks will probably be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

