Woodpeckers

I love birds, along with all wildlife. I don’t like it when woodpeckers peck on my log house! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe have lots of Downy woodpeckers and Hairy woodpeckers. They don’t bother us too often but once in a while…! They love to eat off the bird cakes in our back yard.

But yesterday we heard one so loudly I wondered if he was inside our house! He left after only a few minutes, thank goodness!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I saw the culprit! A Pilated Woodpecker!  They are really big woodpeckers! I’m surprised he’s eating off a bird cake at our feeder! I hope you’ll click on these pictures to see them up close.

I took these pictures from inside my sun room! I have a setting for taking pictures behind glass.

This woodpecker decided to take flight… It’s hard to make this out but the blur is the woodpecker. The red is his head.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

He landed in a tree so I got one last glimpse of him and one last shot!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

There he is in a tree! I barely got a picture of him!

He is Created by God.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Birds, Created by God, Me, Pilated Woodpecker, Woodpeckers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woodpeckers

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    good photo, lucky to get so many of the pilated woodpecker.

    Like

  2. Thanks! The only way I got any pictures of him was because I was in my house taking pictures through the window! I’m surprised they turned out as well as they did! We even have screens on the windows! I took lots more pictures to make sure I got a couple of good ones!

    Like

Leave a Reply

