A New Day

Today is a new day… Yesterday was an extremely busy day!

I went to the gym in the morning. My first time to go in the morning, I always go in the afternoon. I’m just not a morning person, but after going yesterday about 10:00 I just might change my routine! There were less then half the people there! It’s very crowded in the afternoon! Because my afternoon yesterday was all scheduled up I knew if I didn’t go in the A.M. I wouldn’t go at all.

I had an appointment with my Pastor in the afternoon. It was a very positive visit. We discussed small groups. He has some interesting ideas and wants us to join him in using them. So we’ll discuss them at our next small group meeting in a little over a week and see what the folks think. Hopefully, I can give a positive report in the next couple of weeks.

Next on my afternoon schedule was a visit to my Kid’s Hope, USA student from a few years ago. I was a mentor to Sami from kindergarten through 5th grade! Now she’s grown up and a mother to two children! Where has the time gone? This is the first time I’ve seen her in all these years! She hugged me so tightly I knew she was happy to see me! I took a small stuffed animal for each of her babies. I say babies because they are only about 10 months apart and are still babies. We’re going to stay in touch now and get together again. Next time I’ll be wiser and buy them some baby books. They have enough toys!!!

I made a quick stop to the grocery store to pick up some barbecue sauce and some fruit. We were having company for supper! I had one hour to get everything ready! I made barbecued chicken, baked potatoes, green bean casserole, fruit salad and lemon meringue pie. Everything turned out well despite the fact that I prepared it in one hour! I even made the pie during that hour! (I don’t use ready made pie crusts either! I make my own…) Our company was our Chinese university student. He’ll be leaving soon, returning to China. We’ll miss him so much. We’ll keep in touch but it won’t be the same. He and his parents want us to go to China to visit them!!! Whoa! What a great trip that would be!

He brought us a gift. A wonderful Chinese custom! It’s a glass globe with a prayer written ????????????????????????on a book. If we shake it snow falls! It’s also a music box! Wind it and Amazing Grace plays! What a wonderful gift from Andrew! We actually have several gifts given to us over the few years we’ve known him. Most are Chinese gifts reminding us of his heritage.

Today our hearts are hurting because of the death of a young boy, 12 years old, the son of a family in our church. It’s a shock to all of us. We’re in prayer for his family.

Haleigh, one of our granddaughters, is with us today. Jake, the boy who died, was in her youth group. It would have been a tough day for her at school so she stayed here with us. She and I are going out for lunch and just spend some time together.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Death, Family, Friends, Gifts, Grandchildren, Guests, Music Box, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Day

  1. mipennsn says:

    Thank you for being there for Haleigh. I know that Russ and I are very shaken. For some reason God allowed us to hear the EMS call on the scanner. Pray hard for his family, the teens of our town, and our church body.

    Like

  2. Ruth says:

    Sounds like a well lived day Anita. Sorry to hear of the loss of the boy for your family, church and community, sounds like a hard situation. Prayers…

    Like

Leave a Reply

