Our Retirement Home

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWell, here we are in our last home. Our retirement home. We’ve already lived here 16 years! Yes, we’re getting old. I can’t believe it. For the most part I don’t feel old but then every once in a while something tells me, oh yes, I’m getting old. 😦

Log Home 001I’m putting front and back views on here because they are so different and so good!

Back log home winterWe love it here! We worked very hard building this house, like we did the other two houses. We had help, more help with this house. The log men were incredible! One especially. He was only 29 years old but he knew what he was doing!

It was a very exciting day when the logs Logs deliveredwere delivered to our land!

We’ll never forget that day! The excitement and the reality of what we were doing! Oh my…what had we gotten ourselves into!!! Could we do it? Well, at this point, we had to!!!

Jerry planed every log.0002

Jerry planed every single log that went into the house! Whole logs were used for the down stairs and half logs were used for the upstairs.

The trailer house you see in the picture is where Jerry and I lived from October 1996 to April ’97. It was then moved to Rob’s property next door and they lived in it until their house was built! We moved into our 5th wheel camper for the summer and moved into our unfinished log home in October, ’97.

In this house, downstairs: we have a living room, dining room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, small reading room, utility room and a sun room. Upstairs: master bedroom, bathroom, loft.

Ted nailing in spacers.0003

Our kids were excited for us and came to Setting new tub0003help whenever they could. Ted is up on the scaffolding nailing spacers between the rafters.

Ted nailing in spacers.0001Jerry and Rob are setting our new claw foot tub in the downstairs bathroom. Jerry’s brother, Jim, is in the picture. He had helped set the tub but there was only room for two of them to work on it so he’s now watching.

Jim died of cancer the next summer.

Tim and Jerry are hanging the antique chandelier in the dining room.

Pam & me staining logs0002Pam and myself staining the logs.

Our daughter, Christy, would have helped, I’m sure, but she was busy with her two little children and then had a third baby!

We added a Gazebo0005gazebo off the dining room.

Later we made the gazebo into a sun room! We love it and use it all the time!

Log Home 002

I have so many pictures I could post here but I’m got to limit them.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Family, Home, House, Jerry, Log Home, Me, Pam, Rob, Ted, Tim and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Retirement Home

  1. Cynthia Reed says:

    Dear Anita, Such an inspiring story! The younger generation could learn a lot from you! I love your log home and the life you and Jerry have built together as well! What an invaluable thing that Jerry has trained all the boys in carpentry skills and the legacy of a home that they completed together! Though I know you had additional help, what a labor of love! It’s such an idyllic setting and I’m so happy for you to have such a wonderful place to call home and enjoy your retirement! Btw, when my Mom was in her nineties, she said she still felt like a young person inside and acted that way! I like Psalm 92:12-14…Gordon likes this verse too! Also, are you taking reservations?? (SMILE)
    Love,
    Cynthia

    Like

    • Oh Cynthia, you make me smile! 🙂 I just looked up the verses you wrote about. They are good. Thanks so much. By the way, yes, we do take reservations! Guests are always welcome here! We love having company!

      Like

Leave a Reply

