Adapting to Change – Movies

As a girl growing up in the 40’s and 50’s I wasn’t allowed to go to the movies! It was taboo! When I asked why, I was told the money, I would have paid, would go to pay the salary of the movie stars but their life style wasn’t appropriate. Being an obedient child, who loved my parents and God, I accepted this reasoning.

When I was in junior high in Des Moines, Iowa, after eating lunch each day, a movie was shown. I think it was about 20 minutes or so a day so it took all week to show the entire movie. I didn’t go often but there were a few movies I went to see because my friends told me how good they were. They assured me there was nothing wrong with going to see them. Two that I went to see were On Moonlight Bay and By the Light of the Silvery Moon, starring Doris Day and Gordon MacRay.  They were both so good and so fun to watch! From then on I didn’t understand the ruling of No Movies.

Then I turned 16 and was dating Pat. I liked him very much! He was tall and good looking  There wasn’t a lot for us to do! We played miniature golf until we were sick of it. We often went out for pizza. Pizza was new back then and I loved it! Pat respected my parent’s rules but one night he said we were going to a drive-in theater. Oh dear, I’d never been to one in my life! He assured me the movie was a good one and was starring  Esther Williams. It was good. We didn’t switch to the back seat, which was the reputation of couples who went to a drive-in movie! Pat was very respectful of me.

My parents wouldn’t have found out we went to a movie except that it lasted a little too long so I was late getting home. Yes, I had a curfew. Now I was in trouble. They asked where I’d been. I was honest. I told them we’d been to see a movie at a drive-in. Oh boy, that was bad. They asked how I could be so disobedient. I asked them if they would rather have us parking somewhere and necking? Then I said I was sorry, but it was a good movie and we really didn’t do anything wrong.

That was the end of my movie viewing until about the late 1960’s. We had taken our family on a long trip to Oregon to visit my sister’s family. The Sound of Music, starring Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer, was showing at a drive-in theater and Lorraine and Bob and their four daughters wanted to take us to see this movie. They assured us it would be enjoyed by all of us including our four children (at that time four). So we all piled into our station wagon and off we went to the drive-in theater. They were right. It’s still my most favorite movie! Later I found out my parents even went to it…and in a theater!

So the ban on movies was lifted. We didn’t go often but once in a while if we heard of a really good movie we would go to see it.

One movie Jerry and I went to see was On Golden Pond staring Henry Fonda and Katherine Hepburn. It was so good, the photography was beautiful, the story was so interesting and true to life…but the language that was used was horrific! In my opinion the movie was ruined by the bad language that didn’t add a thing to the beautiful story being told.

We seldom go to movies but I do have lots of movies (good movies) on dvd’s and also video’s. I question movies today. The language, sex, violence. How do folks sit in a theater and watch movies that are against their morals? I don’t understand. Do they simply close their eyes…ears? I don’t get it.

I took some of my grandchildren to see My Family Bought A Zoo! That was a good one! I’d like to watch it again!

Back when I wasn’t allowed to go to watch a movie, they were clean and interesting and fun. Today when I can go, most movies, are filled with obscene language and swearing, sex and violence. I’m having trouble adapting to this change.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adapting, Church, Family, Friends, Iowa, Me, Memories, Movies, Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Adapting to Change – Movies

  1. Ruth says:

    Oh…I loved reading this post Anita:). I can relate…even though my childhood was later than yours:). I’m with you and wish that movies today didn’t have to cross lines like they do. It’s not necessary for a good story! This is such a good thing writing your memories! What a treasure for your family and people like me to read. Oh how I wish I would’ve had my grandma’s stories in blog form.

    Like

  2. Iris Duff says:

    I agree, Anita. We seldom go to movies. To me, using vulgar obscene language and swearing is Hollywood trying to cover up the fact that it’s a poorly written movie to begin with. And don’t get me started on sci-fi, Twilight, zombies, etc….yuck. My opinion for what it’s worth.

    Like

  3. movies says:

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back regularly!

    Like

  4. Sherry Rosenberger says:

    I’ve just read several of your posts about changes in the church. Even though I’m 20 years or so younger than you our experiences (I’m a PK too) have been similar. The first movie I ever saw was The Hiding Place, about Corrie TenBoom, in high school. The next time I saw a movie was at a drive in–I still can’t believe my parents let me go–(and they shouldn’t have with THIS boy). But he was a Free Methodist and they thought it would be ok. Thank goodness I had better morals than he!

    Anyway–I now try to support good, clean movies and (usually) make good choices to avoid others. That way I’m using my little bit of buying dollars to influence which movies are made.

    Like

Leave a Reply

