Adapting to Changes – Telephone

As I watch my grandchildren respond to life today I can’t help but go back in my mind to when I was their ages. I was born in the late 30’s, was a child during the 40’s, a teenager during the 50’s, gave birth to my babies in the 60’s, plus one more in 1972.  Oh my…the changes that have occurred! I’m going to write about different subjects of change beginning with:

One major change is the telephone. When I was young we didn’t always have a telephone. It depended on where we lived. My family moved often. When we did have a phone we had a party line. At first we had to count the number of rings before we answered or we might be OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAanswering someone else’s call! There were several families on the line. Then there were just two on the line. Finally, I think, in the late 60’s we got our own private line! What a great day that was.

As a teenager I can remember stretching the phone cord as far as I could and standing in the dark, in the coat closet, so I could talk privately to my friends! By that time and because my dad was a pastor, we had the luxury of a private line! The phone was only black.

We made long distance calls only when there was an emergency. Those calls were limited to three minutes. We could talk longer but it was very expensive, so we didn’t. Letter writing was the major communication line.

When Jerry and I were a young married couple, he told me I should call my parents, just to talk, once a month and we could talk between five and ten minutes! He wasn’t being mean or selfish…no, he was being generous! I treasured those calls! When our babies were born, Jerry called to tell my mother and dad.

What a difference for my grandchildren! Cell phones make all the difference. We don’t OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAeven have a land line any more. I have my cell phone with me all the time.

I’m in contact with my family at any moment! I even talk with my 98 year old mother! My sister, Lorraine, and I would talk for hours late at night. With her in Oregon and me in Michigan this was our lifeline. Now, she’s gone and I treasure those late night conversations.  My granddaughter, Sydney, now calls me every night! She lives on the other side of the state. We love sharing with each other about our day. What a privilege! I just have to remember to keep my phone charged up! I love being able to take pictures with my phone. Who would have thought this possible just a few decades ago. I’m even behind times because I don’t have any of the latest technology. I don’t even text! But I’m able to be in touch with family no matter where they are, in the USA, at a moments notice and for as long as we want! No more three minute limits!

We skype with our son, Tim, in Canada. Another wonderful technological advancement! This is better then a phone call because we are in view of each other! Who would have thought this possible just a few years ago?!

Check back soon for another huge life change!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adapting, Cell Phone, Challenge, Childhood, Family, Grandchildren, Life, Lorraine, Me, Memories, Technology, Telephone and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adapting to Changes – Telephone

  1. sydneyandkay says:

    Yes grandma it is very cool , I agree and I live talking to you also! I an glad I can stay In touch with so many people! I love being able to communicate it solves so many problems when communication is there so yes phones definitely help us! Love you and I hope to see you Soon!
    Love Syd

    Like

  2. Someone essentially lend a hand to make seriously articles I would
    state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular post amazing.
    Great task!

    Like

Leave a Reply

