Dogs…My Best Friends Part III

Scan0016 - CopyWhen our youngest son, Rob, was in high school we decided to get another dog. Rob and I went to the dog pound to see what was available and what would make a good pet for us. There were so many dogs, some of them looked really good, like they would make a good pet. But one dog stood out! He was just a pup and he looked at us with pleading eyes: take me home with you, please? We both knew he was the one! We named him Buddy. A friend gave us a good insulated dog house and Jerry and Rob put up a fence for a kennel for him. He came in the house sometimes and always at night. One day I had let him out and then later had to go somewhere so I looked outside for him. He’d have to stay in the house while I was gone. I couldn’t find him! Oh no. I should have taken time to put him in the kennel. I looked over at the kennel and surprise! Buddy was in the kennel looking at me! The gate was wide open! What a good dog! After that day we discovered that Buddy never left our yard! We had a big yard of two acres so he had plenty of room, but most dogs would wander off if they weren’t tied, in a kennel or on a leash. Buddy was a very good dog! (This was back when dogs could run free)

Buddy 001We moved after a few years so Buddy had to adjust to a new home and territory! He now had five acres to run  and once again we discovered he never left our property! How he knew the property lines I’ll never know.

Buddy and I loved to swing together in the yard swing. I was the only one he would ever swing with! I felt privileged!

After Rob was married he moved to Buddy!their property…next door! So he still had the run of the five acres. Buddy and I were good buddies.

One New Year’s Eve we lost him in a kind of a freak accident. I still miss him.

Some friends of our son’s family, gave them a Shih Tzu puppy. They named him Plaid. He was the sweetest little dog. I took care of him whenever they went away over night.

PlaidSometimes when they were just gone for a day I’d go over and take him for a walk. So Plaid wasn’t my dog. He belonged next door to Rob’s family… But Plaid and I had a love affair between us! We loved to go for walks together.

For some reason, any time the door was left open and Plaid saw it, he was gone like a streak! He would run down the road only to be returned home by whomever happened to see him. One day though, a car couldn’t miss him and he was hit and killed. I still miss him.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Created by God, Dogs, Family, Me, Rob and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dogs…My Best Friends Part III

  1. sydneyandkay says:

    I love these 3 blogs about your dogs that you have in the past! I think all these dogs are beautiful and I miss plaid also. We can see him in heaven ! So my dad liked the posts all lot also! I am glad you got dogs in the past to love and to keep you safe! I love you so much grandma! Night night!
    ❤ Syd

    Like

Leave a Reply

