Putting Christmas Away

Oh, what a job! I’ve been working at putting Christmas away all week! In fact, even more than a week because we took the tree down and put it away last week. This week I’m Pconcentrating on putting my Nativity sets away. I’m just about finished… I’ve been more organized this year in putting them away so next year should be easier!

Even though the Nativity sets and other decorations are being put away the Spirit of Christmas lingers! Santa Claus is forgotten for now but Jesus remains! He came to earth as a babe because of the sinfulness of mankind. We are the reason, not just for the season, but the reason for Jesus coming, growing as a child, living as a man, teaching, healing, loving, traveling, rebuking, dying on the cross…

Yes…we are the reason…

 

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Created by God, Decorations, Nativity Sets, Relationship with God, Santa Claus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Putting Christmas Away

  1. Sue Husted says:

    I too have been putting things away we had out for Christmas. This year seems like it was easier for some reason. I just did a bit at a time, and perhaps I didn’t put out as much this yr. but it was ok. We have two levels, so the upstairs is pink, gold and burgundy, as our sofa is a pattern that has those colors in it. A while back, I found some 3 ” wide ribbon that had gold silk on one side and a lovely pink mauve velvet on the other side. So I twist it around the tree for a garland. Then put in white snowflakes, and drape gold beads and the rest is gold balls with lg. and small ones. We have a few other balls that are gifts or special over the yrs. and it all looks lovely with the white lights. Then downstairs, the part finished off, has the traditional red and green. That is still not put away, and on the landing going downstairs, I put some evergreen garland with gold lights a poinsettia and some bells and plaid ribbon, and that is not away yet either. But everything else in the living room is away. I will put the rest away in the next few days. In my childhood I had rough days from a disfunctional family. You never knew if it would be a happy Christmas or a spoiled one. Most of them were spoiled by drinking and arguing with quite a few times of brawling and the police coming for salt and battery. It took many yrs. for me not to remember a negative Christmas. But as the girls were born and we had wonderful times in our home, and do now, the positive has replaced the negative. God has healed memories, and even allowed me to see the good in some of the bad, and the whys. This yr. I don’t think I has any bad times of remembrance at all, maybe that is a first, and I praise God for that. We had such fun with our family on several different days and then all the events they were all in for Christmas. It was such a blessing. So I’m lingering in the thoughts of this Christmas, and just want to tuck it in a warm place in my heart. God is so good to give us each other, and bless us with the grandkids too, and a lot of wonderful friends like you. Blessings to you in the coming year. Hugs from Husteds.

    Like

  2. Terrific post but I was wanting to know if you could write a
    litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

    Like

  3. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you make running a blog look easy. The whole look of your site is fantastic, let alone the content!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’ve actually been blogging for several years. I started out on blogspot. I still have my first blogs. If you’re interested you can find them at anitaarcher.blogspot.com and mylife-experieces.blogspot.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

