Christmas Day At My House

The day finally arrived. I remember as a child thinking the day would never get here. Of course it has come and gone every year like every day. Today was an extremely busy day for me, but it was also a wonderful day.

I got up at 4:30 am to get dinner started. We had turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, candied sweet potatoes, clover leaf rolls, apple pie and lemon pie. So with the turkey in the oven we were ready to open our gifts.

We were all up except Grandpa. So Sydney and Bella went upstairs and sang loudly, “We wish you a Merry Christmas, We wish you a Merry Christmas…” That did the trick, Jerry came downstairs. With hot coffee in our cups we were now ready… Wait a minute… Sydney and Bella read the Christmas story to us from Matthew 2 in the Bible. Then we were ready to open our gifts.

Sydney and Bella passed out the gifts one at a time. We waited for each gift to be opened. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe all oohed and aahed before going on to the next gift!

 

 

Sydney got a blanket with her picture on it with her former horse, Kay. Ted had it made for her somewhere. What a perfect and beautiful gift!

At . noon our guests began arriving. Rob and his three kids. (Jessica had to work.)  Our three Chinese friends came to the door. We were all so happy to be together. Dinner was almost ready. There were twelve of us altogether. The Advent candles were lit as we explained just what they meant. Then between the main course and dessert I read the Christmas story from the Bible in Luke 2. Our friends were very interested in what all this meant. It was a wonderful Christmas day.  Merry Christmas!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Day At My House

  1. Sue Husted says:

    What a perfect day. They will remember the moments with you and I am sure pattern their lives after them. We still do some of the same things that Grandma Husted did for us. And dinner time was one of the things high on the list for Christmas day. Keep enjoying your wonderful family.

    Like

  2. sydneyandkay says:

    Oh grandma, your not old! I am really glad you are as active as you are! I had so much fun on Christmas with you and i hope i can spend lots of more Christmases with you, you are an awesome grandma! Never forget and Merry Christmas grandma.Thanks for the gifts by the way. Love you
    Syd ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

