A Surprise in the Mail

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALast week my friend from school days, Dean, and his wife, Norma, came to visit us. I’ve already posted about our visit. I had never met Norma and Dean had never met Jerry. Of course Norma and Jerry were clueless. Now the four of us are friends.

In the mail, yesterday, a package arrived from Dean and Norma. Inside? A beautiful  carving of a cross, heart and dove, made OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAby Dean!  It’s so beautiful! The Cross, made from Wenge Wood, is the symbol of Jesus’ sacrificial death. The Dove, made from Curly Maple, is the symbol of the Holy Spirit empowering us from within to live victoriously. The Heart, made from Acacia Wood, which was used to build the Arc of the Covenant, is the symbol of God’s eternal love.

Here is his explanation in an e-mail to us:                                                                                I never dye the wood. It is it’s natural color.  Wenge wood comes from Africa.  It is very dense, almost ebony like, but has a distinct grain.  Curley maple is more common, but Acacia wood, also known as African Bloodwood, comes from a tree that has red sap.  Again it is a very dense wood with such a unique odor when it is being cut or sanded.  I can imagine helping build the Arc of the covenant and smelling the same odor.  I’m glad you like it. Dean

It takes real talent to carve something so beautiful and so perfectly! Dean is a very talented singer and wood carver! Oh…he makes delicious cinnamon rolls too!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Dean, Friends, Gifts, Guests, Wood Carving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Surprise in the Mail

  1. Pam says:

    That is beautiful! I can’t wait to see it in person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

