Today’s Thoughts All in the Day of Me

Today, seven years ago, December 18, 2005, my dad left us. He would have turned 96 in just four more days. We had had a great morning with him, his mind was so clear. In the afternoon his mind faded, that evening he was gone. My older brother and I were both there; he from Colorado and I from Michigan. How fortunate we were to be there, in Lorraine & DadWashington, with Dad and Mother in his final days and hours. He was a great man. I love you, Dad.

This is a picture of my dad with my sister, Lorraine. She also left us this year. I miss them both so much.

I went to the doctor yesterday. I’m basically a very healthy person with a few minor problems. Our doctor is the best doctor in Michigan. Oh, you didn’t know that? Well, believe me.

Our closet door is about 3/4 covered with Christmas cards now. It’s looking good! Although the number is still down considerably from a few years ago.

Last week we had company for a couple of days. A very good friend from school days and his wife! Dean and I hadn’t seen each other in over 50 years! This picture is of Dean, myself and Jerry sitting at the breakfast table. I wanted everything to be perfect..had the house looking good…well, we do live here, so it wasn’t perfect. I cooked my favorite meals and used my best dishes! For OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAbreakfast I fixed our favorite menu but it didn’t quite taste as good as usual. Jerry and I both wondered what was missing.  Now I know…I left out, accidentally, a main ingredient! Oh, how could I have done that??? Well, if they ever come to visit again, I’ll make it again…correctly and deliciously! In case you’re wondering…it was puff pancakes with sausage and peaches. What did I leave out? The Maple Syrup!!! No wonder it didn’t taste as good…

I didn’t win the contest I entered. That’s a downer. Oh well, it didn’t cost anything to join, I had fun, I learned some things.

Jesus Is The Reason For The Season. I use this statement a lot. I have it on our Christmas card, it’s on a mug we’re using now during the Christmas season, etc.  Here is a big, new thought from Sunday’s sermon. Jesus isn’t the reason for the season…we are! Oh, I hadn’t thought of that before. I like it. My thoughts were rather shallow. I was thinking Jesus is the reason rather than Santa Claus and that’s right. But the real reason Jesus came to earth to live among us humans is because of us. We are the reason for the season! Sin had become so predominate and wicked that God sent His Son. Jesus came to save us. He hasn’t forced Himself on us though, we have a choice. I choose Jesus. Do you?

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Christmas, Dad, Death, Family, Guests, Me, Memories, Relationship with God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Thoughts All in the Day of Me

  1. Dean Beguhl says:

    Anita, Your dad was a great guy. I had many wonderful times with him. As for the breakfast, it was excellent. Jerry and I are smiling aren’t we? Don’t sweat it. You did great! We had such a lovely time. We need to start talking about when you and Jerry can come down here.

    Like

    • Dean, you’re a true friend! As for the breakfast…wait til you eat it with the maple syrup! It’s fantastic! We had a lovely time when you were here too. I love how our friendship picked right up from where we left off over 50 years ago! Norma and Jerry fit right in too. It was great. We want to come down to visit you and hopefully the weather will allow it before too long. We do need to wait til after the new year. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

