Vel’s Christmas Master Piece

My sister-in-law, Vel, is the decorative queen. She’s already working on her Christmas decorations. You see, in December my brother and sister-in-law will have a party for all the neighbors. It’s a big affair that everyone around here looks forward to every year. Their house is a masterpiece! In order to get it all done in time she has to start now! So yesterday before I went to spend the day with my mom I helped out by ironing curtains for her. Yes, she even changes her curtains and drapes for Christmas! I’m not going to be here to see the finished product. We were here one year though when it was all done and I couldn’t believe it! I said then that her house is better than Macy’s Christmas window! She’s done a lot more since then and every year makes changes to make it even better! You’ve actually got to see it to believe it! These two trees here are in their lower level. When she’s finished there’ll be about five or six trees!

The Nativity set here has been set up outside the past two years, however, with the snow and the vandals they’ve decided to keep it in a room in the lower level. So, with my pictures here, you’re getting just a sampling of what their house will be like when December gets here. I wish we could come back but we can’t.

I’ll do my own decorating, which will be nice, but won’t even compare with the decorating queen, Vel!

And…by the way…Thanksgiving will be celebrated at their daughter’s house, which is all decorated in a harvest time Thanksgiving theme! 

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Bill & Vel, Christmas, Family, Nativity Sets, Projects, Seasons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vel’s Christmas Master Piece

  1. Sue Husted says:

    I think this is a great idea. I have a friend that does the extra decorating. Her home is a virtual winter and Christmas wonderland. Every room has a different Christmas tree and all kinds of Nativity scenes. Another does just Nativity scenes, from all over the world, and unusual, unique ones. She gives tours and refreshments toward Christmas. I think your Nativity displays are beautiful too. You do a wonderful job of decorating. I think decorating is a form of celebration and it helps us praise our God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

