Vel – The Decorative Queen

My younger brother, Bill, has struggled all his life. He was a preemie to begin with, weighing in at two pounds nine ounces. He wasn’t expected to live but he did! I’ll skip  a lot now and go to him as a man. He was a film maker and has some incredible films to his credit, even going to the other side of the earth to film farming practices. Then he hurt his back, neck, I’m not sure what all. Life has been a struggle ever since. So now in retirement he, aside from living in constant pain, and his wife are living the good life.

Vel is a decorative queen! She practically lives for decorating their house. I’ve teased her a lot this trip thanking her for decorating for my birthday! “No one has ever decorated to this extent for my birthday ever before!” Well, hopefully you get it…my birthday is on Halloween!

The rest of the house was all decorated for harvest time. My pictures aren’t quite in the order I want them. Halloween was supposed to be first but as I look at them harvest time is first. Anyway, the harvest decorations are already coming down! Halloween will stay until November 1, then it’s gone.

You see, Vel decorates for Christmas like no body else! So she’s already working on Christmas trees, etc. This will be an entirely too long blog if I keep going here so I’m going to do another blog on her Christmas decorations!

So stay tuned or go to the next post. However you want to say it. Vel is an incredible decorator. She should have done it as her career! Instead she was a beautician. But now, in retirement, she shines as the most incredible decorator I know!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Bill & Vel, Colorado, Decorations, Family, Halloween, Harvest Time, House, Projects, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vel – The Decorative Queen

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Wow! Beautiful decorations. I’m glad you got to help her, and enjoy the colors of it all. She is quite talented in this area. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

