Hans – A Brief Encounter

Hans is tall and slender with a Scandinavian accent and is from Sweden. His pure white hair, or is he a true blond (?), is long and tied in a pony tail. He’s 62 years old, divorced but best friends with his former wife! If you see him, please tell him hello for me.

We had a delightful visit in the shuttle from the Denver International Airport south to Colorado Springs…except I got out at Castle Rock. Hans and his friend were tourists looking to see what they could see and experience before going back to Sweden in two weeks. I told him Colorado Springs is a great place to go to see the USA. He told me of all the many other places in the US he’d been to on previous visits.

Hans and I shared a common bond: both of our mothers being full blooded Norwegian! He began telling me how beautiful Norway is. I told him a trip to Norway is on my bucket list. He asked, “What’s a bucket list?”

“It’s anything you want to do before the end of your life! In other words, before you die!” I explained.

“Oh,” he said very surprised, “I like that! If I had a bucket list – I want to go to Afghanistan.”

“Afghanistan! There’s fighting going on, it’s not safe there!” I said quite startled.

“Yes, I know,” he replied sadly. And then he quickly added, “but it’s the only country in the world I’ve not been to!”

“What??? No way! You’re kidding me! How can that be?” I blurted out.

“It’s true. I work for an air line and living in Sweden it’s very easy to get a VISA for anywhere in the world! But they won’t give me one for Afghanistan. So I wait.”

We talked about many other fascinating subjects and before we knew it we were in Castle Rock. I could see my brother, Bill, with my niece, Lisa, waiting for me.

Hans and I said good-bye and farewell…never to meet again. It was a brief encounter that I think we’ll both always remember! If you ever see him, please tell him hello for me.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bucket List, Colorado, Friends, Me, Norway, Sweden, Traveling, World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

