Visiting With My Mother

  I just called my mom. She lives in a  nursing home in Colorado. I’m going on a trip to visit her next week. Here I am, she says.

I called to tell her I’m coming. The poor workers when I call. Mother’s room is clear at the end of a very long hall. Most of the time when they finally get there, she’s not there! They have to hunt for her! She goes to a Bible study. She has her hair done. She has a manicure! She goes to physical therapy. She likes to sit in the sun room when the sun is shining so she can get warm. She goes to any activity that going on. She goes shopping at Wal-mart! How old is she, you ask? She’s only 98 1/2 years old! She rides a motorized scooter. Sometimes the workers have to tell her to slow down! I love my mom!

She told me she bought me a present! Oh dear, what can I take for her? Well, maybe my going to visit is enough for her. I do have one little thing I’m taking, but it’s not a fun present.

She likes candy, maybe I can take some candy to her! That’s it, sweets for the sweet!

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Colorado, Family, Me, Mother and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Visiting With My Mother

  1. Donna says:

    Aren’t you a writer? Write her a poem or a short story or some type of anecdote. Or a beautiful scripture on pretty paper and have it framed. Something personal. And the candy, too!! I hope people bring me candy when I am 98 years old.

    Like

    • Oh, thanks for your good comment, Donna. You gave me some good ideas! I know of just the story I could write! It’s about her…

      Like

    • ginnyhb66 says:

      Good ideas! Talk about the old days! And be recording it! Living history! And ask her for words of wisdom that she has learned over the years! :o) God bless you & your mom.

      Like

      • Thanks for your comment. I like your enthusiasm! The story I’m thinking of is one when I was a child. My mom showed an unselfish side of herself by giving to some crabby neighbors!

        Like

      • ginnyhb66 says:

        She’ll love it! Especially if it brings back the memory! Be sure to share. I’m very interested; tell her so! And tell her I love her & look forward to meeting her in heaven! :o)

        Like

      • allinthedayofme says:

        Okay, I wrote a story for her! It’s on Anita’s Adventures at: mylife-experieces.blogspot.com You can read it there. I hope you will. I misspelled experiences so you have to too! It’s experieces.

        Like

  2. Iris Duff says:

    Does she remember Dad?

    Like

  3. This makes me miss my grandmother…she passed in march this year. Wonderful and loving post. It’s good to see daughters who still adore their mothers even in nursing homes.

    Like

  4. Sue says:

    I love your mom and so glad you can go see her. Will keep you in prayer as you make the trip. Have a great time.

    Like

  5. tersiaburger says:

    How blessed you are!!

    Like

  6. lesleycarter says:

    Beautiful; I hope you enjoyed your visit with your mom ❤

    Like

  7. bjones1031 says:

    You mom sounds like such a fun woman! 98 1/2 and still so active. I can only hope to still be out galavanting and riding a scooter when I’m that age.

    Like

Leave a Reply

