Thoughts keep coming up…

I’m writing these thoughts and memories for myself so I can come back and find comfort. You’re welcome to read them too and in fact, I hope you do. I love ‘likes’ and comments! They keep me going.

Before I went to Oregon for Lorraine’s memorial service I put on the new clothes I had purchased to wear on the day. Jerry gave me his approval but then added, “You need a string of pearls to make it complete!”  “Oh,” I said, “I have some pearls.”

The day of the memorial service I got dressed and then realized I forgot to pack my pearls! I mentioned to Christine, my niece, what Jerry had said. She held up her hand and said, “Just a minute,” and hurried off to her bedroom. She came back with a string of pearls and said softly, “These were mom’s.”  She fastened them around my neck and we hugged and cried.

During the memorial service I had two parts to read so I was up in front…it wasn’t easy. But I had Lorraine around my neck in the form of her pearls.

At the end of the day I took them off and handed them to Christine. “You keep these, Christine. The ones I have, that I forgot, are my mom’s. And these were your mom’s. What a gift we each have.” We hugged again and cried.

When we were kids Lorraine was given a dancing doll from our grandmother. She kept her all these years. Well, now Christine has her, she still dances but she’s very frail and fragile.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Family, Lorraine, Me, Memorial, Memories, Pearl, Sisters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts keep coming up…

  1. Donna Sizemore says:

    This is a very touching story. Thank you for sharing with Judy and I outside church this morning. The sun was shinning and your jacket sparkled so pretty. I am sure your sister was smiling down upon you.

    Like

  2. Sharron Hill says:

    What a lovely memory to share with your neice, Christine. Her mother’s pearl necklace. Your sister’s string of pearls. Praying for the comfort only God can give you at this time of sorrow and loss of your sister. May your precious memories of Lorraine bring you peace and joy. You looked beautiful on Sunday. So glad we chatted for a bit in the foyer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

