Missing Lorraine

I’ve been missing Lorraine (sister) especially all last night and all day today so I thought I’d put some more pictures on here and write a little about her again. I’ve mentioned how we used to talk on the phone late at night. Sometimes she’d call when I was watching a program on TV that I liked and really didn’t want to miss. But I never told her and just gave her my full attention. Last night I was watching Law and Order, one of my favorite shows, and I wished, oh how I wished, she would call me. But those days are over. I can watch my favorite shows now and I wish I couldn’t.

This is Ben and Molly, brother and sister. They are the children of Sandy Willow, the illustrator in Lorraine’s book, Starter Stories for the Very Young Reader. They each had a story from their childhood that Lorraine liked and wrote up for her book. Molly’s Job and Ben’s Parade. I was talking to a young man at the meal after the service but he didn’t tell me he was Ben in the book! Later his mother pointed him out to me. I was so glad to meet him and Molly. I insisted on taking their picture.

We’re all so glad Lorraine’s book was published and on the market while she was alive and well. Who knew that only a few months later she’d be gone.

 

 

 

These are two of her grandsons, Sean and Joe, ringing the bell at the church right after the memorial service.  I took a picture of the bell but it didn’t turn out. I was so disappointed. But I’m glad I got Sean and Joe. I wish you could hear the bell!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Death, Family, Grandchildren, Lorraine, Sisters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Missing Lorraine

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Thanks for sharing about family. You are in our prayers. Hugs

    Like

  2. bjones1031 says:

    I’m glad her book got published too. Dad’s got published two weeks before he passed, and I know it meant a lot to him to have it out there in the world when he was no longer going to be. My nephew’s birthday is coming up. Is there anywhere I can get him this book?
    I know you must miss her, but I hope she is near to you when you need her. Sending love your way!

    Like

  3. sydneyandkay says:

    I love you grandma. I still have a book aunt Lorraine gave me. I love them and will keep them forever since they were a gift from her. I love you and you are in my prayers to. ❤ Syd

    Like

Leave a Reply

