Giving Up Jobs in My Old Age

I’m doing my fall cleaning now and it’s coming along. There are two jobs that are kind of tough now in my old age. I’ll be 74 next month. One is cleaning and dusting the clock shelf. I still do it but I don’t know how much longer I will. It means climbing the ladder and handing the clocks to Jerry, one at a time. Then cleaning the shelf and cleaning each clock thoroughly and putting them back up on the shelf. Rob, son, didn’t want me to do it this year, but while he was at work, we went ahead and did it. Maybe next spring we’ll let him help us with it.

The ceiling fan at the peak of our 22 foot ceiling is the other problem. We clean it fall and spring. I’ve always climbed the ladder to clean it but I said when I turn 70 I’ll let someone else do it! Well, I did it that year but not since. One of our son’s has done it every time since then. Rob came over yesterday, while I was enjoying myself at the tea party, and he and Jerry took the ladder up the stairs.  Rob climbed up and cleaned the fan for me! It was a nice surprise to come home to!

Both pictures here are of the same fan just from different perspectives. I was standing downstairs taking both of them.

Then there is the problem of washing the windows that are so high up. We have five that I’m not allowed to wash!  I can’t do it nor will they let me do it. But I hate dirty windows. When we were building our house I thought how creative and clever it was to put in sky lights and the octagon window. Well, I can wash three of them on the inside but none of the five on the outside. I’m in the process of washing all the other windows inside and outside along with my fall cleaning. What a great feeling it is when the work is all done!!!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Cleaning, Home, Me, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giving Up Jobs in My Old Age

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Your house is so beautiful with the sun being able to come in like that. I imagine as you say, it is hard to keep the windows clean, not to speak of the fan so high. You do good at your age and it is great you have family to help out. How blessed we are to have our families. I loved hearing all the good comments about families at the Republican National Convention, didn’t you? Praying for good restoration and honor of our families to be restored. Love and Hugs, Sue

    Like

  2. sydneyandkay says:

    Ohh hi grandma!! I love your house and going there is so fun. I hope you are careful with your housework I care a lot about you. I thought that was wonderful about families on the democratic convention.
    ❤ Syd

    Like

Leave a Reply

