Real Grandma

I’ve posted a lot of pictures and blogs about my grandchildren and myself. It’s all so fun and loving. There are never accidents or problems, arguments or fights.  It was recently brought to my attention that I surely can’t be that perfect! And I’m not! Believe me…I’m not perfect and I don’t pretend to be.

This picture is of our nine grandchildren who were here all at  one time this summer. We have 15 altogether and we really missed the ones who weren’t here.

I’ll come clean in this blog. I love fun, sports, stories, jokes, laughter, giggling, parties, sleep-overs, tea parties, games, etc. There is one thing I dislike and that is disrespect. There is one thing I demand: RESPECT.

Respect for God, parents, country, flag, US president, school, church, laws…you get the picture.

I demand respect for me, my rules, my possessions, my age, my house, my beliefs…

I do get upset when respect is disregarded. Today’s society does disregard respect. I don’t understand it. And when it comes home to me, I get upset. This summer was no exception.

There were times when I got upset. I regret my reactions but I can’t let disrespect go by.

I’ll not go into detail here but I did lose it on one occasion in particular. I cannot tolerate disrespect and disobedience. The kids knew better and they know I mean business.

Is respect too much to ask for? I don’t think so.

I’m concerned about the next generation. Children growing up don’t see respect in adults so how are they to learn respect?

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Cousins, Family, Grandchildren, Home, Me, Respect and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Real Grandma

  1. Sue Husted says:

    Good post, Anita. I agree with everything you said. I was just talking about manners when I got my hair cut today. We were discussing the tea party I’m giving on Sat. for the granddaughters and their friends. She was saying how that no one seems to teach manners and respect for property and others anymore. So I applaud you, at least two of us are modeling honor and respecting. Probably more we don’t know about. But she, the stylist, was sharing how she expects her son to tow the line on respect and honor even though a lot of his class mates are not doing that. He is young and I hope will influence others, as I hope my granddaughters do too. Keep up the good teaching and have fun while doing it. I’d love to be your grand child. You have so much fun with them. I applaud loud and clear. Hugs, Sue

    Like

  2. There are some attention-grabbing points in time on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

    Like

  3. sydneyandkay says:

    You are an awesome grandma. I love u so much and i hope I can see you soon!!! ❤ syd

    Like

Leave a Reply

