Memory Bank & Olympics

I’ve had my memory jogged while watching the Olympics! I was amazed one day when my memory bank opened and I saw myself back in the early 50’s as a young girl at a camp in Oregon, Wisconsin! My dad was a former chef and camps often hired him to be the head cook for their summer camps. We went to Wisconsin two years in a row and I had a grand time! Well, one year I became very sick and ended up in the hospital in the nearest city, Madison. But that’s another story.

What I’m writing about here has to do with sports. At the back of the camp was a shed full of sports equipment. I became an expert stilt walker! I could even go up and down steps on quite high stilts! There was also track equipment. I remember broad jumping into the sand. The memory I’m most thrilled about though is pole vaulting! Yes, I pole vaulted! Now, of course the cross pole wasn’t terribly high but I remember being lifted by the pole and going over successfully and landing in the sand! Okay, sometimes the cross pole went down with me!  But now here’s the most amazing detail of all…are you ready for this? Back in the fifties girls wore dresses. Yes, I did these sports in a dress!!!

Watching the Olympics is one of my most favorite things to do, except when it’s a sport I care nothing about…wrestling, boxing, beach volley ball. I love gymnastics, swimming, diving, equestrian, racing, etc. It’s almost over now and I’m really going to miss it. But then soon it’ll be time for the winter Olympics!

So there you have my memories and my preferred sports. It’s nothing earth shaking…just a part of me.

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in All in the day of me..., Childhood, Me, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memory Bank & Olympics

  1. Pam Bazan says:

    Pole Vaulting? I would never have guessed that. What a fun memory

    Like

  2. thanks for such a great post and the review, i am totally impressed! keep stuff like this coming. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    Like

Leave a Reply

