Travel Log # 13 USA Massachusetts

I’ve been to Massachusetts twice. The first time was on my honeymoon, 52 3/4 years ago! We only took home movies so I have no pictures to show. My second time to go was October 2011. Sadly, I was there about a week before the colors began to change. My reason for going was for a convention so I had no choice of the date or the location. But I loved it! Massachusetts is oozing with history! I love history… I wish I could have toured the whole state! The first picture here is an old, old house from the 1800’s turned into a museum, although the owners do still live in the far side of the house. I went through the museum…it was so interesting!

To go along with history, which I love, is this hand crocheted canopy on my four poster bed! It was made by a grandmother.

Picture # 3 is a church built back in the 1800’s and is still in use today. Pic # 4 is The Church on the Green. A very famous church in Massachusetts where all the people coming over from Europe attended. The pews are the old, old ones with doors on the ends of each pew! It was very interesting. Today it’s a Congregational Church. Pics 5 & 6 are across the street at a very large old, old cemetery, dating back to the 1700’s. The dome in picture # 4 goes on top of the courthouse in picture # 6. It was taken down before it fell down and will be replaced later. Pic # 9 is a cranberry mog. This is cranberry country! 

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Cemetery, Cranberries, Massachusetts, Me, Traveling, USA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

