Travel Log # 13 USA Part 3 Colorado, Horn Peak Mountain

A couple more years have past and we’re back visiting my parents on Horn Peak Mountain.

Jerry stopped so I could take a picture of Horn Peak Mountain

 

 

 

Horn Peak Mountain, in Custer County, is 13, 450 feet high.

 

 

 

 

The children are growing and I see one more! Ted, Tim, Christy, Pam and one more…Robby!

 

 

 

Jerry, the three older kids and I all wanted to go for a hike and climb Horn Mountain. Christy wanted to go too but we all felt she was too young. We convinced her to stay home with Grandma and Grandpa and help out with Robby. With the convincing came the promise to let her climb this huge boulder.

She doesn’t show

very well but that’s Christy standing on top!

We hiked through woods, across a meadow, followed a stream, hiked above the tree line and threw snowballs. We stopped to rest and eat a snack. I looked behind me…what? Looking across I saw the peak of the mountain. Oh no, we knew we’d never make it… We sat there considering what to do and decided we’d better head back down while we still had a path to follow and the mountain stream or we’d end up lost!

Horse riding again! Robby is on Pam’s horse. The nearby Horn Creek Ranch has great riding trails.

My parents are with us here. Pam, my mother and dad, myself holding Robby, Ted. In front are Christy and Tim. Jerry must have taken the picture.

 

 

 

 

Just look how all the kids have grown! Tim, cousin Andy, Ted, Robby and Pam. In front are cousin Susan and Christy.

 

 

 

We still had the same pickup and camper.

About allinthedayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus one granddaughter-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, niece, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Christy, Colorado, Family, Hiking, Horse Back Riding, Traveling, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

