Indian Chief Motorcycle 65th Anniversary Cake

When my parents were celebrating their 65th anniversary we had a small family celebration. We wanted it to be special…what could I do? Jessica, daughter-in-law, asked me what I like to do… “Well, make cakes, but we live in Michigan and they live in Washington.” How could I do it and what kind of cake would I make? “How did they meet?” she asked. “My mom went for a ride on her uncle’s Indian Chief motorcycle. She was still in high school. He stopped off at work, a hotel kitchen, where a co-worker came out to see the motorcycle. He saw Corina!” Glen and Corina were married about two years later.

So it was decided I’d make an Indian Chief Motorcycle Cake! We took everything I’d need in the car with us: cake pans, cake mixes, frosting, electric mixer, bowls, utensils, etc.

We drove first to Lorraine’s place (sister) on Mt Hood, Oregon over night. I baked the cakes there. We went on to Washington the next day. We had a room at a camp next to where my parents lived. I spent a whole day in our room cutting the cake and decorating it like a motorcycle. My mother asked where I was when the family got together and was told I had work to do so I was in our room. That was true. They just didn’t say what kind of work!!! Were Mother and Dad surprised when they saw it…in fact, I think everyone was surprised, even me!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Anniversary, Cakes, Family, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

