Travel Log # 12 Haiti, Part 2 1993

In 1993 I made a second trip to Haiti. We flew into Port-au-Prince and were greeted by some musicians as we deplaned! That was fun! We stayed overnight at a guest house in Port-au-Prince and met up with some old friends.

Laroche and I were great friends 22 years ago! He was just a boy then. Now I met his three sons, only one is pictured here with him, below!

Kids, kids, kids! I love them! Everywhere we went we were surrounded by kids! The ones dressed alike are kids with sponsors and attend school. The color of their shirts identifies the school.

Doctor Deb was in our group. Here she’s doctoring a man’s very sore thumb! If we opened the gate to let him in we’d have been flooded with people. Luckily his hand fit through the bars of the gate. A good doctor never turns away a hurting patient.

A young mother so proudly took me to her ‘room’ to show me her new baby. She insisted I take a picture! We didn’t have digital cameras back then so, sadly, she never got to see the picture and I’ve never seen her since, but I have a picture of a sweet baby!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Friends, Haiti, Me, Traveling, Uncategorized, World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel Log # 12 Haiti, Part 2 1993

  1. Lorrie says:

    Highly energetic post, I loved that bit. Will there be
    a part 2?

    Like

Leave a Reply

