Travel Log # 9 Mexico 1994 & 1995 Part 3 Hiking

Looking at the mountains off in the not too far distance some of us got a yearning to climb! Jerry and I love to hike. We could see what looked like a black cave so that became our goal. We’d climb to the Black Cave! We kept our eyes open for any rattle snakes along the way. Luckily we didn’t see any. They’re not too active this time of year.  We also had to be careful of the cacti or we’d get stuck. In fact, one man did. They just couldn’t seem to get the pickers out. Finally they asked me to turn around while he dropped his jeans and they proceeded to extract the needles! Ouch!

Picture 3 shows part of our adventurous gang. All men except for one boy and myself.

Picture 4 shows our ascent.

Pic 5 It’s time for break, guys! I’ve got some cookies in my bag, wouldn’t you like one?

Pic 9 & 10 We made it! The Black Cave!

Pic 11 Jim, our fearless leader!

Pic 12 Jerry thinking we still have to go back down…!

About allinadayofme

I can't believe I'm in old age! I'm more than halfway through my seventies! I'm a child of God, wife to one, mother to five, grandmother to 15 plus two granddaughters-in-law! I'm a sister, aunt, cousin, friend and neighbor. I'm a housewife and former ESL tutor. I love reading and writing. I write and am the editor of a newsletter, Primetime, bi-weekly, for seniors. I love genealogy, traveling, birds and animals, blogging and taking pictures.
This entry was posted in Jerry, Me, Mexico, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Log # 9 Mexico 1994 & 1995 Part 3 Hiking

  1. Pondering Something says:

    Looks like it was a wonderful hike! Glad you made it to your goal and it was worth the trek.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes, it was a good hike! Later, at one of our campfires we were given special recognition and an award…Jim made us each a great walking stick out of the insides of a cactus. We still have them. They’re very sturdy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

